Nitro Rallycross’ 2022-23 season will air live on NBC’s Peacock streaming service

2022-23 Nitro Rallycross

All 10 races of the 2022-23 Nitro Rallycross season will be broadcast live on Peacock as the series heads into its second year and goes global.

The program coverage will total nearly 80 hours of heats, qualifiers and main events with encore presentations on CNBC and NBC’s digital platforms

The season will begin June 18-19 in Lydden Hill in Southern England as Nitro Rallycross takes the series to six countries and three continents. In addition to England, the series will visit Sweden, Finland, Saudi Arabia and Canada. The season is scheduled to end in March 2023 at a still-to-be-announced location in the United States.

“We are excited to continue our partnership with Nitro Rallycross for a second consecutive season, and Peacock is the perfect place for NRX superfans to come for every minute of live racing,” Mike Perman, vice president of programming for NBC Sports said in a release. “The action-packed, innovative style of NRX racing is a seamless fit in NBC Sports’ extensive motorsports portfolio.”

Last year’s calendar featured five rounds with eventual champion and series creator Travis Pastrana winning twice. The 2021 championship was so close that the margin of victory was not a margin at all; Pastrana beat Scott Speed on a tiebreaker. Third-place Timmy Hansen, who won the inaugural championship in 2018, was only one point back.

Nitro Rallycross features purpose-built courses that squeeze the action of rally racing into the confines of an arena. The 2021 courses featured combinations of asphalt, dirt and sand with jumps designed to launch the drivers above the roofs of cars racing below. Banked corners contributed to a dirt track racing feel that allowed cars to gain momentum before rocketing down the straights.

“It is great to have Nitro Rallycross back on Peacock for another season,” said Joe Carr, CEO of Thrill One Sports & Entertainment. “Nitro RX will expand globally to 10 races this season and debut the FC1-X, our all-electric, 1000+ hp supercar. With market leaders like NASCAR and INDYCAR, NBC Sports is the perfect home for our disruptive new motorsport.”

Sergio Perez wins rain-delayed race in Singapore over Leclerc; Verstappen seventh

Sergio Perez Singapore
Clive Rose/Getty Images,

SINGAPORE — Max Verstappen’s Formula One title celebrations were put on hold after the Red Bull driver placed seventh at a chaotic Singapore Grand Prix, won by his teammate Sergio Perez on Sunday.

Perez’s second win of the season saw him finish 7.6 seconds ahead of Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc, with Leclerc’s teammate Carlos Sainz Jr. in third place.

Perez was investigated for a potential safety car infringement but still kept the win after a 5-second time penalty for dropping too far back after being warned.

Verstappen had won the past five races but needed to win here and finish 22 points ahead of Leclerc to be crowned champion for a second straight season. That could happen next weekend at the Japanese GP.

Verstappen made a mistake after the second safety car restart, following AlphaTauri driver Yuki Tsunoda’s crash on Lap 36. When Verstappen tried to overtake Lando Norris’ McLaren, he locked his tires and needed to pit again.

Leclerc started from pole position with Verstappen going from eighth after a team blunder in qualifying.

The race start was delayed by more than an hour to clear water off the Marina Bay Circuit track following heavy rainfall. Drivers had to finish the 61-lap race within a two-hour window; 59 laps were completed.

Tricky conditions saw the virtual safety car deployed three times and DRS was allowed with about 30 minutes remaining.

Perez made a good start and jumped past Leclerc while Verstappen dropped several places. The first safety car was on Lap 8 when Zhou Guanyu’s Alfa Romeo was cut off by Nicholas Latifi’s Williams.

Perez got away cleanly at the restart, while Verstappen climbed into seventh behind Fernando Alonso – whose 350th F1 race ended disappointingly when his engine failed on Lap 21, bringing out the first VSC.

With the track still damp, drivers decided against changing to quicker tires – apart from Mercedes’ George Russell, who struggled for grip.

Hamilton made a rare mistake on Lap 33 and thudded into the crash barrier. Soon after, the leading drivers changed tires in a flurry of stops. They did so just before the safety car was deployed again following Tsunoda’s error.

Verstappen overtook Sebastian Vettel’s Aston Martin right at the end for seventh place.