IndyCar results and points after Toronto


Toronto results, points: Scott Dixon ended a 23-race NTT IndyCar Series winless streak (the second longest in his career) Sunday, winning the Honda Indy Toronto by 0.8106 seconds over Colton Herta.

With his first victory in the No. 9 Dallara-Honda since May 1, 2021 at Texas Motor Speedway, Dixon tied Mario Andretti for second on the IndyCar win list with his 52nd career victory.

It was the fourth victory on the Toronto street course for Dixon, and the six-time series champion also extended his record streak of 18 consecutive seasons with at least one victory.

In season bests, Felix Rosenqvist finished third, and Graham Rahal was fourth. Indy 500 winner Marcus Ericsson finished fifth to increase his championship lead by 15 points over Will Power (15th Sunday).

Defending series champion Alex Palou finished sixth to rebound from a tumultuous week and a starting position of 22nd.

Here are the IndyCar results and points standings Sunday after the Honda Indy Toronto:


Click here for the official box score from the 85-lap race on the 11-turn, 1.786-mile street course in Toronto. Click here for the lap leader summary and here for the pit stop performance.

Full lap chart

Best section times

Full section data

Event summary

Pit stop summary

Here is the finishing order in the Honda Indy 200 with starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (2) Scott Dixon, Honda, 85, Running
2. (1) Colton Herta, Honda, 85, Running
3. (8) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 85, Running
4. (14) Graham Rahal, Honda, 85, Running
5. (9) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 85, Running
6. (22) Alex Palou, Honda, 85, Running
7. (18) Simon Pagenaud, Honda, 85, Running
8. (10) Christian Lundgaard, Honda, 85, Running
9. (6) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 85, Running
10. (3) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 85, Running
11. (15) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 85, Running
12. (5) David Malukas, Honda, 85, Running
13. (20) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 85, Running
14. (7) Callum Ilott, Chevrolet, 85, Running
15. (16) Will Power, Chevrolet, 85, Running
16. (11) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 85, Running
17. (17) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 85, Running
18. (12) Devlin DeFrancesco, Honda, 85, Running
19. (13) Jack Harvey, Honda, 85, Running
20. (25) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 85, Running
21. (21) Jimmie Johnson, Honda, 73, Contact
22. (24) Kyle Kirkwood, Chevrolet, 58, Contact
23. (4) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 44, Contact
24. (23) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet, 30, Mechanical
25. (19) Takuma Sato, Honda, 0, Contact

Winner’s average speed: 92.234 mph; Time of Race: 1:38:45.3087; Margin of victory: 0.8106 of a second; Cautions: 4 for 15 laps; Lead changes: 7 among 6 drivers; Lap Leaders: Herta 1-17; Rosenqvist 18; Rahal 19-24; VeeKay 25-28; O’Ward 29-31; Dixon 32-46; VeeKay 47-60; Dixon 61-85.


Click here for the points tally in Sunday’s race.

Here are the points standings after 10 of 17 races this season for:


Engine manufacturers


Top 10 in points: Ericsson 351, Power 316, Palou 314, Newgarden 307, Dixon 307, O’Ward 276, McLaughlin 274, Herta 254, Rosenqvist 244, Pagenaud 243.

Rest of the standings: Rossi 236, VeeKay 211, Rahal 210, Daly 198, Grosjean 197, Lundgaard 183, Castroneves 173, Malukas 163, Sato 154, Harvey 126, Ilott 113, DeFrancesco 111, Johnson 108, Kirkwood 106, Tony Kanaan 78, Kellett 76, Santino Ferrucci 71, Tatiana Calderon 58, JR Hildebrand 53, Ed Carpenter 49, Juan Pablo Montoya 44, Simona De Silvestro 21, Marco Andretti 17, Sage Karam 14, Stefan Wilson 10.

NEXT: IndyCar will head to Iowa Speedway for a doubleheader weekend July 23-24. The Saturday race is at 4 p.m. ET on NBC, and Sunday’s race will be at 3 p.m. ET on NBC.

HOW TO WATCH INDYCAR IN 2022Full NBC Sports schedule with dates, times, networks/streaming

Ken Roczen signs with HEP Progressive Ecstar Suzuki for 2023

Roczen Progressive Ecstar Suzuki
Align Media

ANAHEIM, California – Ken Roczen will make the move from HRC Honda to H.E.P. Motorsports with the Progressive Ecstar Suzuki team, ending a long and eventful offseason that saw his split from his longstanding team after he committed to running World Supercross (WSX).

“H.E.P. Motorsports is thrilled to announce that the team has signed Ken Roczen as its premier rider for the 2023 season,” the team announced on Instagram. “Former AMA Motocross champion Roczen will be aboard a Suzuki RM-Z450. Roczen, who won his most recent championship on a Suzuki, will be reunited with the brand and bring his exciting style, determination, and grit back to the RM Army.

“Ken Roczen will compete in the upcoming 2023 Supercross and Motocross Championship series which is set to start on January 7 at Anaheim Stadium in Southern California.”

For Roczen, it is a return to the bike of his youth and on which he had some of his greatest professional success.

“This thing has been going on for weeks and weeks and weeks in the making, but there was so much uncertainty,” Roczen told NBC Sports during Monster Energy Supercross Media Sessions. “It was a very unique situation. I just finally signed two nights ago, so it’s really only legit once the ink hits the paper. It’s been in the works for a long time, but there were just a lot of questions and a lot of input from a lot of other teams too.

“Good things take time, and I’m okay with that. I grew up riding Suzuki. Ot’s like a homecoming. It’s a special feeling”

Roczen won the 2016 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship on a Suzuki before making the move to Honda. That year he won nine of 12 Nationals and finished no worse than second as he easily outpaced Eli Tomac by 86 points. He finished third in his next Pro Motocross outing in 2018 after sitting out the outdoor season in 2017.

“I am beyond excited to reconnect with Suzuki for the 3rd time in my career. We’ve had a lot of success in the past and I’m looking forward to seeing what we can accomplish together in our future.” Roczen said in the Instagram post.