IndyCar results and points after Iowa Race 2


IndyCar Iowa results, points after Race 2: Pato O’Ward took advantage of Josef Newgarden’s crash with 65 laps remaining, winning the Hy-Vee Salute to Farmers 300 at Iowa Speedway for his second victory this season.

O’Ward won by 4.24.76 seconds over Will Power, and Scott McLaughlin finished third as Chevrolets swept the podium.

“We knew that we had a great car,” O’Ward said. “So, it was all about just capitalizing and being there when it counted. The guys did a great job calling when we had to pit. It was very, very enjoyable.”

Scott Dixon finished fourth in his No. 9 Dallara-Honda, and Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Jimmie Johnson rounded out the top five with a career-best finish in IndyCar.

Ganassi’s Marcus Ericsson finished sixth to maintain first in the championship standings, leading by eight points over Power with five races remaining.

Aiming for a weekend sweep of Iowa after winning Saturday, Newgarden slammed the Turn 4 SAFER Barrier while leading on Lap 235 of 300. He led a race-high 148 laps and was poised to take the points lead with his fifth victory of 2022.

“It was a bit of a shock,” Newgarden told NBC Sports’ Dave Burns. “Man, I want to cry. So sad for my team. I don’t know what happened. It was a good run. I feel terrible for us. I don’t know; something went wrong there.”

Newgarden fainted after the race and was evaluated overnight at a Des Moines hospital. He was released Monday and will be need to be cleared by IndyCar medical staff Thursday to race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

Here are the IndyCar results and points standings Sunday after the Hy-Vee Salute to Farmers 300, Race 2 at Iowa Speedway:


Click here for the official box score from the 300-lap race on the 0.894-mile oval in Newton, Iowa. Click here for the lap leader summary.

Full lap chart

Best section times

Full section data

Event summary

Pit stop summary

Here is the finishing order in the Hy-Vee Salute to Farmers 300 with starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (7) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 300, Running
2. (1) Will Power, Chevrolet, 300, Running
3. (5) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 300, Running
4. (18) Scott Dixon, Honda, 300, Running
5. (13) Jimmie Johnson, Honda, 300, Running
6. (15) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 300, Running
7. (9) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 300, Running
8. (14) David Malukas, Honda, 300, Running
9. (10) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 300, Running
10. (4) Takuma Sato, Honda, 300, Running
11. (22) Callum Ilott, Chevrolet, 300, Running
12. (12) Colton Herta, Honda, 299, Running
13. (11) Alex Palou, Honda, 299, Running
14. (23) Graham Rahal, Honda, 299, Running
15. (25) Devlin DeFrancesco, Honda, 298, Running
16. (3) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 298, Running
17. (19) Ed Carpenter, Chevrolet, 297, Running
18. (21) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 296, Running
19. (8) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 296, Running
20. (6) Jack Harvey, Honda, 296, Running
21. (24) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 295, Running
22. (26) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet, 294, Running
23. (16) Simon Pagenaud, Honda, 281, Running
24. (2) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 235, Contact
25. (20) Kyle Kirkwood, Chevrolet, 117, Contact
26. (17) Christian Lundgaard, Honda, 112, Mechanical

Winner’s average speed: 140.681 mph; Time of race: 1:54:23.2097; Margin of victory: 4.2476 seconds; Cautions: 2 for 26; Lead changes: 7 among 5 drivers. Lap leaders: Power 1 – 65; Sato 66 – 67; Malukas 68; Power 69 – 83; Newgarden 84 – 195; Sato 196 – 198; Newgarden 199 – 234; O’Ward 235 – 300.


Click here for the points tally in Sunday’s race.

Here are the points standings after 12 of 17 races this season for:


Engine manufacturers


Pit stop performance

Top 10 in points: Ericsson 403, Power 395, Newgarden 369, Dixon 369, O’Ward 367, Palou 359, McLaughlin 317, Herta 278, Rosenqvist 275, Rossi 265.

Rest of the standings: Pagenaud 257, VeeKay 254, Rahal 248, Grosjean 245, Daly 223, Lundgaard 208, Malukas 204, Castroneves 196, Sato 184, Johnson 158, Ilott 150, Harvey 148, DeFrancesco 139, Kirkwood 126, Kellett 94, Tony Kanaan 78, Santino Ferrucci 71, Carpenter 67, Tatiana Calderon 58, JR Hildebrand 53, Juan Pablo Montoya 44, Simona De Silvestro 21, Marco Andretti 17, Sage Karam 14, Stefan Wilson 10.

NEXT: IndyCar will race Saturday, July 30 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course with a noon ET start on NBC.

HOW TO WATCH INDYCAR IN 2022Full NBC Sports schedule with dates, times, networks/streaming

Ken Roczen signs with HEP Progressive Ecstar Suzuki for 2023

Roczen Progressive Ecstar Suzuki
Align Media

ANAHEIM, California – Ken Roczen will make the move from HRC Honda to H.E.P. Motorsports with the Progressive Ecstar Suzuki team, ending a long and eventful offseason that saw his split from his longstanding team after he committed to running World Supercross (WSX).

“H.E.P. Motorsports is thrilled to announce that the team has signed Ken Roczen as its premier rider for the 2023 season,” the team announced on Instagram. “Former AMA Motocross champion Roczen will be aboard a Suzuki RM-Z450. Roczen, who won his most recent championship on a Suzuki, will be reunited with the brand and bring his exciting style, determination, and grit back to the RM Army.

“Ken Roczen will compete in the upcoming 2023 Supercross and Motocross Championship series which is set to start on January 7 at Anaheim Stadium in Southern California.”

For Roczen, it is a return to the bike of his youth and on which he had some of his greatest professional success.

“This thing has been going on for weeks and weeks and weeks in the making, but there was so much uncertainty,” Roczen told NBC Sports during Monster Energy Supercross Media Sessions. “It was a very unique situation. I just finally signed two nights ago, so it’s really only legit once the ink hits the paper. It’s been in the works for a long time, but there were just a lot of questions and a lot of input from a lot of other teams too.

“Good things take time, and I’m okay with that. I grew up riding Suzuki. Ot’s like a homecoming. It’s a special feeling”

Roczen won the 2016 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship on a Suzuki before making the move to Honda. That year he won nine of 12 Nationals and finished no worse than second as he easily outpaced Eli Tomac by 86 points. He finished third in his next Pro Motocross outing in 2018 after sitting out the outdoor season in 2017.

“I am beyond excited to reconnect with Suzuki for the 3rd time in my career. We’ve had a lot of success in the past and I’m looking forward to seeing what we can accomplish together in our future.” Roczen said in the Instagram post.