IMSA Road America results: Wayne Taylor Racing wins from pole, seizes points lead


IMSA results, points: Wayne Taylor Racing won from the pole position Sunday at Road America and took over the points lead in the DPi category with one race left in the WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season.

Filipe Albuquerque started on the pole and won in the No. 10 Acura after teammate Ricky Taylor had a tricky middle stint when rain began with his car in the lead but on slick tires.

After limping back to the pits in eighth, Taylor told the team to hand the car over to Albuquerque.

RESULTS: Click here for overall finishing order l Click here for the class breakdown

POINTS: Standings after Road America l Sprint Cup standings

“I was just trying to survive,” Taylor said. “Honestly, I didn’t know if I was doing a very good job. I just saw that the guys on wets were gone. They asked what we wanted to do on the next stop and I said, ‘Put Filipe in.’ ”

Albuquerque weaved through traffic to take the lead with 24 minutes left from Oliver Jarvis, who crashed the Meyer Shank Racing No. 60 Acura with 10 minutes left.

The race ended under yellow with Albuquerque and Taylor moving into the championship lead by 19 points over Jarvis and co-driver Tom Blomqvist with their fourth victory this season and 49th career victory.

The DPi category will conclude its season Oct. 1 with the Petit Le Mans at Michelin Road Atlanta.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Cadillacs finished second and third overall at Road America.

In other categories:

GTD Pro: Jack Hawksworth and Ben Barnicoat won in the No. 14 Lexus, earning the ninth career victory for Vasser Sullivan. The team’s first win this season is its second at Road America.

GTD: Philip Ellis and Russell Ward won in the No. 57 Mercedes-AMG GT3 for Winward Racing, its second career victory and first at Road America.

LMP2: Ryan Dalziel and Dwight Merriman won in the No. 18 for Era Motorsports, the team’s first win of the season and third of its career.

LMP3: Felipe Fraga and Gar Robinson won in the No. 74 for Riley Motorsports, the team’s 22nd career victory.


Fastest laps by driver

Fastest laps by driver after race (over the weekend)

Fastest laps by driver and class after race

Fastest lap sequence

Leader sequence

Lap chart

Race analysis by lap

Time cards

Pit stop time cards

Average distance and speed

Best sector times

NEXT: The IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship’s GT classes will head to Virginia International Raceway in Alton, Virginia, for a GTD Pro/GTD race Aug. 28. The Michelin GT Challenge at VIR will be televised on USA at 2 p.m. ET.

Starting lineup grid for IMSA Petit Le Mans: Tom Blomqvist puts MSR on pole position

Petit Le Mans lineup

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar championship contender Tom Blomqvist put the Meyer Shank Racing Acura at the front of the starting lineup for the Motul Petit Le Mans at Michelin Road Atlanta.

Blomqvist turned a 1-minute, 8.55-second lap on the 2.54-mile circuit Friday to capture his third pole position for MSR this season. Earl Bamber qualified second in the No. 02 Cadillac for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Ricky Taylor was third in the No. 10 Acura of Wayne Taylor Racing, which enters Saturday’s season finale with a 19-point lead over the No. 60 of Blomqvist and Oliver Jarvis (who will be joined by Helio Castroneves) for the 10-hour race.

PETIT LE MANS STARTING GRID: Click here for the starting lineup l Lineup by car number

PETIT LE MANS: Info on how to watch

With the pole, MSR sliced the deficit to 14 points behind WTR, which will field the trio of Taylor, Filipe Albuquerque and Brendon Hartley in Saturday’s race.

“We really needed to put the car in this kind of position,” Blomqvist said. “It makes our life a little less stressful tomorrow. It would have given the No. 10 a bit more breathing space. It’s going to be a proper dogfight tomorrow. The guys gave me such a great car. It’s been fantastic this week so far, and it really came alive. I’m hugely thankful to the boys and girls at MSR for giving me the wagon today to execute my job.

“That was a big effort from me. I knew how important it was. It’s just awesome for the guys to give them some sort of reward as well. It’s always nice to be quick. If you do the pole, you know you’ve got a quick car.”

Though WTR has a series-leading four victories with the No. 10, MSR won the Rolex 24 at Daytona and has five runner-up finishes along with its three poles.

The strong performances of the ARX-05s ensure that an Acura will win the final championship in IMSA’s premier Daytona Prototype international (DPi) division, which is being rebranded as Grand Touring Prototype in the move to LMDh cars next season.

Taylor qualified third despite sliding into the Turn 5 gravel during the closing minutes of qualifying while pushing to gain points.

“Qualifying was important for points,” Taylor said. “Going into it, if we outqualified the No. 60 Meyer Shank Acura, they had a lot to lose in terms of championship points. So, we were trying to increase the gap over 20 points which would’ve made a big difference for tomorrow. We would have loved to get the pole and qualify ahead of the No. 60, but in the scheme of the points, it didn’t change a whole lot. I’m feeling good since it’s such a long race, and the No. 10 Konica Minolta Acura team does such a good job strategizing and putting us in a good position.

“I’m very confident in our lineup and our team compared to them over the course of 10 hours. I’d put my two teammates up against those guys any day. I think we are all feeling optimistic and strong for tomorrow.”

In other divisions, PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports (LMP2), Riley Motorsports (LMP3), VasserSullivan (GTD Pro) and Paul Miller Racing (GTD) captured pole positions.

The broadcast of the 10-hour race will begin Saturday at 12:10 p.m. ET on NBC, moving at 3 p.m. to USA Network.



Results by class

Fastest lap by driver

Fastest lap by driver after qualifying

Fastest lap by driver and class after qualifying

Fastest lap sequence in qualifying

Best sector times in qualifying

Time cards in qualifying

PRACTICE RESULTS: Session I l Session II l Session III