IndyCar results, points after Nashville


NASHVILLE, Tennessee — Scott Dixon made IndyCar history Sunday in topping the results of the Music City Grand Prix, passing Mario Andretti for second on the all-time win list and moving into second in the points standings.

With three races remaining, Dixon is six points behind championship leader Will Power after his second victory of the season.

There are five drivers within 33 points of the lead: Power, Dixon, Marcus Ericsson, Josef Newgarden and Alex Palou, who finished third at Nashville.

Scott McLaughlin, who finished second in Nashville after starting from the pole, is sixth in the standings, 58 points behind Power’s lead and one point ahead of Pato O’Ward.

Here are the IndyCar results and points standings Sunday after the Music City Grand Prix on the streets of downtown Nashville, Tennessee:


Click here for the official box score from the 80-lap race on the 11-turn, 2.1-mile street course in Nashville. Click here for the lap leader summary.

Full lap chart

Best section times

Full section data

Event summary

Pit stop summary

Here is the finishing order in the Music City Grand Prix with starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (14) Scott Dixon, Honda, 80, Running
2. (1) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 80, Running
3. (4) Alex Palou, Honda, 80, Running
4. (17) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 80, Running
5. (23) Colton Herta, Honda, 80, Running
6. (6) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 80, Running
7. (15) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 80, Running
8. (3) Christian Lundgaard, Honda, 80, Running
9. (13) Simon Pagenaud, Honda, 80, Running
10. (11) Jack Harvey, Honda, 80, Running
11. (8) Will Power, Chevrolet, 80, Running
12. (10) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 79, Running
13. (26) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 79, Running
14. (18) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 76, Mechanical
15. (19) Callum Ilott, Chevrolet, 76, Running
16. (2) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 75, Contact
17. (22) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 74, Running
18. (25) Jimmie Johnson, Honda, 72, Contact
19. (16) Kyle Kirkwood, Chevrolet, 63, Contact
20. (7) David Malukas, Honda, 63, Contact
21. (20) Takuma Sato, Honda, 32, Contact
22. (24) Devlin DeFrancesco, Honda, 32, Contact
23. (9) Graham Rahal, Honda, 29, Contact
24. (5) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 25, Contact
25. (12) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet, 25, Contact
26. (21) Simona De Silvestro, Chevrolet, 25, Contact

Winner’s average speed: 79.744 mph. Time of race: 2:06:24.2439. Margin of victory: 0.1067 of a second. Cautions: 8 for 36 laps. Lead changes: Three among four drivers. Lap leaders: McLaughlin 1-22; Palou 23-53; Newgarden 54-65; Dixon 66-80.


Click here for the points tally in Sunday’s race.

Here are the points standings after 14 of 17 races this season for:


Engine manufacturers


Pit stop performance

Top 10 in points: Power 450, Dixon 444, Ericsson 438, Newgarden 428, Palou 417, McLaughlin 392, O’Ward 391, Rossi 330, Rosenqvist 325, Herta 315,

Rest of the standings: VeeKay 300, Pagenaud 284, Rahal 281, Grosjean 273, Lundgaard 272, Daly 249, Malukas 231, Castroneves 224, Sato 208, Ilott 181, Johnson 178, Harvey 178, DeFrancesco 159, Kirkwood 144, Kellett 108, Tony Kanaan 78, Santino Ferrucci 71, Ed Carpenter 67, Tatiana Calderon 58, JR Hildebrand 53, Juan Pablo Montoya 44, De Silvestro 26, Marco Andretti 17, Sage Karam 14, Stefan Wilson 10.

NEXT: IndyCar will race Saturday, Aug. 20 streets at World Wide Technology Raceway at Gateway with a 6 p.m. ET start on USA.

HOW TO WATCH INDYCAR IN 2022Full NBC Sports schedule with dates, times, networks/streaming

Starting lineup grid for IMSA Petit Le Mans: Tom Blomqvist puts MSR on pole position

Petit Le Mans lineup

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar championship contender Tom Blomqvist put the Meyer Shank Racing Acura at the front of the starting lineup for the Motul Petit Le Mans at Michelin Road Atlanta.

Blomqvist turned a 1-minute, 8.55-second lap on the 2.54-mile circuit Friday to capture his third pole position for MSR this season. Earl Bamber qualified second in the No. 02 Cadillac for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Ricky Taylor was third in the No. 10 Acura of Wayne Taylor Racing, which enters Saturday’s season finale with a 19-point lead over the No. 60 of Blomqvist and Oliver Jarvis (who will be joined by Helio Castroneves) for the 10-hour race.

PETIT LE MANS STARTING GRID: Click here for the starting lineup l Lineup by car number

PETIT LE MANS: Info on how to watch

With the pole, MSR sliced the deficit to 14 points behind WTR, which will field the trio of Taylor, Filipe Albuquerque and Brendon Hartley in Saturday’s race.

“We really needed to put the car in this kind of position,” Blomqvist said. “It makes our life a little less stressful tomorrow. It would have given the No. 10 a bit more breathing space. It’s going to be a proper dogfight tomorrow. The guys gave me such a great car. It’s been fantastic this week so far, and it really came alive. I’m hugely thankful to the boys and girls at MSR for giving me the wagon today to execute my job.

“That was a big effort from me. I knew how important it was. It’s just awesome for the guys to give them some sort of reward as well. It’s always nice to be quick. If you do the pole, you know you’ve got a quick car.”

Though WTR has a series-leading four victories with the No. 10, MSR won the Rolex 24 at Daytona and has five runner-up finishes along with its three poles.

The strong performances of the ARX-05s ensure that an Acura will win the final championship in IMSA’s premier Daytona Prototype international (DPi) division, which is being rebranded as Grand Touring Prototype in the move to LMDh cars next season.

Taylor qualified third despite sliding into the Turn 5 gravel during the closing minutes of qualifying while pushing to gain points.

“Qualifying was important for points,” Taylor said. “Going into it, if we outqualified the No. 60 Meyer Shank Acura, they had a lot to lose in terms of championship points. So, we were trying to increase the gap over 20 points which would’ve made a big difference for tomorrow. We would have loved to get the pole and qualify ahead of the No. 60, but in the scheme of the points, it didn’t change a whole lot. I’m feeling good since it’s such a long race, and the No. 10 Konica Minolta Acura team does such a good job strategizing and putting us in a good position.

“I’m very confident in our lineup and our team compared to them over the course of 10 hours. I’d put my two teammates up against those guys any day. I think we are all feeling optimistic and strong for tomorrow.”

In other divisions, PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports (LMP2), Riley Motorsports (LMP3), VasserSullivan (GTD Pro) and Paul Miller Racing (GTD) captured pole positions.

The broadcast of the 10-hour race will begin Saturday at 12:10 p.m. ET on NBC, moving at 3 p.m. to USA Network.



Results by class

Fastest lap by driver

Fastest lap by driver after qualifying

Fastest lap by driver and class after qualifying

Fastest lap sequence in qualifying

Best sector times in qualifying

Time cards in qualifying

PRACTICE RESULTS: Session I l Session II l Session III