IndyCar Gateway starting lineup: Will Power ties Mario Andretti for IndyCar pole record


Will Power made history Friday while bolstering his championship run in World Wide Technology Raceway Gateway qualifying, earning the top spot in the starting lineup with his 67th career pole position to tie Mario Andretti for the all-time IndyCar record.

Power, who leads Scott Dixon by six points in the NTT IndyCar Series standings with three races remaining, turned a lap at 182.727 mph in his No. 12 Dallara-Chevrolet on the 1.25-mile oval and paced qualifying for Saturday’s race (6 p.m. ET, USA Network).

“Amazing,” Power told NBC Sports’ Kevin Lee. “I never ever would be able to do this without Verizon and Penske. Such a fantastic career, they’ve given me such great opportunity, and of course, Chevrolet, too because a lot of those poles were with a Chevy engine. I’m still shaking. There was nothing left on the table.

INDYCAR AT WWTR GATEWAY: Details, schedules, start times for this weekend

QUALIFYING RESULTS: Speeds from Friday’s session

“Just an amazing year so far. This is a big victory for me to reach the 67 (poles) and equal such a legend of the sport in Mario Andretti. I just can’t believe I’m right there with Mario because there’s been no one like him.”

Indy 500 winner Marcus Ericsson qualified second (182.070 mph) in the No. 8 Dallara-Honda and narrowly missed his first IndyCar pole as title contenders took the top seven spots.

“It doesn’t change a lot, we still need to win the race,” Ericsson told NBC Sports’ Dillon Welch. “I’m very proud of the Bryant Honda. The No. 8 car was really good. We had a good practice and built on that. The guys did a good job tuning the car around for qualifying, and it was nice to drive.

“The best qualifying of my IndyCar career, and I’m very proud of that. We definitely can fight from there. That close to your first pole, you want it, but we’ll try to get them tomorrow. It’s going down to wire, but I have a ton of respect for all these guys. I’m looking forward to it.”

Team Penske drivers Josef Newgarden and Scott McLaughlin qualified on the second row, followed by Alex Palou, Dixon and Pato O’Ward.

After turning the third-fastest speed in practice, Felix Rosenqvist will start last after a spin in qualifying. Rosenqvist managed to keep his No. 7 Dallara-Chevrolet off the wall and avoid any significant damage.

Here’s the IndyCar starting lineup for Saturday’s Bommarito Automotive Group 500 on the 1.25-mile oval at World Wide Technology Raceway at Gateway (qualifying position, car number in parentheses, driver, engine, time, speed):


1. (12) Will Power, Chevrolet, 49.2539 seconds (182.727)
2. (8) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 49.4316 (182.070)


3. (2) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 49.5515 (181.629)
4. (3) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 49.6126 (181.406)


5. (10) Alex Palou, Honda, 49.6446 (181.289)
6. (9) Scott Dixon, Honda, 49.7364 (180.954)


7. (5) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 49.9160 (180.303)
8. (51) Takuma Sato, Honda, 01:15.5935 (100.009)


9. (29) Devlin DeFrancesco, Dallara-Honda, 179.531
10. (27) Alexander Rossi, Dallara-Honda, 179.420


11. (26) Colton Herta, Dallara-Honda, 179.347
12. (18) David Malukas, Dallara-Honda, 179.159


13. (60) Simon Pagenaud, Dallara-Honda, 178.778
14. (45) Jack Harvey, Dallara-Honda, 178.775


15. (20) Conor Daly, Dallara-Chevrolet, 178.674
16. (15) Graham Rahal, Dallara-Honda, 178.657


17. (06) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Honda, 178.356
18. (28) Romain Grosjean, Dallara-Honda, 179.925-**

ROW 10

19. (30) Christian Lundgaard, Dallara-Honda, 178.165
20. (14) Kyle Kirkwood, Dallara-Chevrolet, 178.079

ROW 11

21. (48) Jimmie Johnson, Dallara-Honda, 176.368
22. (77) Callum Ilott, Dallara-Chevrolet, 176.184

ROW 12

23. (21) Rinus VeeKay, Dallara-Chevrolet, 176.005
24. (4) Dalton Kellett, Dallara-Chevrolet, 173.902

ROW 13

25. (33) Ed Carpenter, Dallara-Chevrolet, 173.667
26. (7) Felix Rosenqvist, Dallara-Chevrolet, no speed

**–Penalized nine grid positions for an engine penalty

Starting lineup grid for IMSA Petit Le Mans: Tom Blomqvist puts MSR on pole position

Petit Le Mans lineup

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar championship contender Tom Blomqvist put the Meyer Shank Racing Acura at the front of the starting lineup for the Motul Petit Le Mans at Michelin Road Atlanta.

Blomqvist turned a 1-minute, 8.55-second lap on the 2.54-mile circuit Friday to capture his third pole position for MSR this season. Earl Bamber qualified second in the No. 02 Cadillac for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Ricky Taylor was third in the No. 10 Acura of Wayne Taylor Racing, which enters Saturday’s season finale with a 19-point lead over the No. 60 of Blomqvist and Oliver Jarvis (who will be joined by Helio Castroneves) for the 10-hour race.

PETIT LE MANS STARTING GRID: Click here for the starting lineup l Lineup by car number

PETIT LE MANS: Info on how to watch

With the pole, MSR sliced the deficit to 14 points behind WTR, which will field the trio of Taylor, Filipe Albuquerque and Brendon Hartley in Saturday’s race.

“We really needed to put the car in this kind of position,” Blomqvist said. “It makes our life a little less stressful tomorrow. It would have given the No. 10 a bit more breathing space. It’s going to be a proper dogfight tomorrow. The guys gave me such a great car. It’s been fantastic this week so far, and it really came alive. I’m hugely thankful to the boys and girls at MSR for giving me the wagon today to execute my job.

“That was a big effort from me. I knew how important it was. It’s just awesome for the guys to give them some sort of reward as well. It’s always nice to be quick. If you do the pole, you know you’ve got a quick car.”

Though WTR has a series-leading four victories with the No. 10, MSR won the Rolex 24 at Daytona and has five runner-up finishes along with its three poles.

The strong performances of the ARX-05s ensure that an Acura will win the final championship in IMSA’s premier Daytona Prototype international (DPi) division, which is being rebranded as Grand Touring Prototype in the move to LMDh cars next season.

Taylor qualified third despite sliding into the Turn 5 gravel during the closing minutes of qualifying while pushing to gain points.

“Qualifying was important for points,” Taylor said. “Going into it, if we outqualified the No. 60 Meyer Shank Acura, they had a lot to lose in terms of championship points. So, we were trying to increase the gap over 20 points which would’ve made a big difference for tomorrow. We would have loved to get the pole and qualify ahead of the No. 60, but in the scheme of the points, it didn’t change a whole lot. I’m feeling good since it’s such a long race, and the No. 10 Konica Minolta Acura team does such a good job strategizing and putting us in a good position.

“I’m very confident in our lineup and our team compared to them over the course of 10 hours. I’d put my two teammates up against those guys any day. I think we are all feeling optimistic and strong for tomorrow.”

In other divisions, PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports (LMP2), Riley Motorsports (LMP3), VasserSullivan (GTD Pro) and Paul Miller Racing (GTD) captured pole positions.

The broadcast of the 10-hour race will begin Saturday at 12:10 p.m. ET on NBC, moving at 3 p.m. to USA Network.



Results by class

Fastest lap by driver

Fastest lap by driver after qualifying

Fastest lap by driver and class after qualifying

Fastest lap sequence in qualifying

Best sector times in qualifying

Time cards in qualifying

PRACTICE RESULTS: Session I l Session II l Session III