Jeff Gordon and Ray Evernham are reuniting to race a No. 24 Porsche at Indianapolis

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series
Jeff Siner/Charlotte Observer/Tribune News Service via Getty Images

In a reunion of NASCAR Hall of Famers, four-time Cup Series champion Jeff Gordon will work with Ray Evernham in the IMSA Porsche Carrera Cup race weekend Sept. 2-4 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Gordon, who retired from full-time driving in 2015 and hasn’t raced competitively in NASCAR since 2016, will be among 30 drivers in Porsche 911 GT3 cars on IMS’ 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course.

“I’m looking forward to getting back in a race car and competing against a talented field of teams and drivers,” Gordon said in a track release. “It’s always special when I get a chance to compete at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Ray and I have always talked about running another race together, and we felt like Indy was the perfect place. It’ll be a fun way to spend the holiday weekend and make some new memories.”

Gordon has been mulling another sports car start next year at another famous venue. Team owner Rick Hendrick said he would like Gordon to be one of the drivers in the Garage 56 Next Gen entry at the 2023 24 Hours of Le Mans in France.

Gordon is a 93-time winner in NASCAR’s premier series, including a record five times in the Brickyard 400. Two of his wins at Indy were with Evernham, his crew chief in the No. 24 Chevrolet from 1993-99. Evernham and Gordon combined for three championships and 47 victories over 218 starts in the Cup Series.

Gordon will be driving the No. 24 Porsche in the invitational class of the race weekend, which is part of the second annual Porsche Sports Car Together Fest. His sports car resume includes being part of the winning Cadillac entry in the 2017 Rolex 24 at Daytona (becoming one of only four drivers to win the Daytona 500 and Rolex 24).

Practice for the two 40-minute Carrera Cup races will be Sept. 2, followed by qualifying and Race 1 on Sept. 3 and Race 2 on Sept. 4. The races will be broadcast on the series’ web site and on IMSA.TV.

Starting lineup grid for IMSA Petit Le Mans: Tom Blomqvist puts MSR on pole position

Petit Le Mans lineup

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar championship contender Tom Blomqvist put the Meyer Shank Racing Acura at the front of the starting lineup for the Motul Petit Le Mans at Michelin Road Atlanta.

Blomqvist turned a 1-minute, 8.55-second lap on the 2.54-mile circuit Friday to capture his third pole position for MSR this season. Earl Bamber qualified second in the No. 02 Cadillac for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Ricky Taylor was third in the No. 10 Acura of Wayne Taylor Racing, which enters Saturday’s season finale with a 19-point lead over the No. 60 of Blomqvist and Oliver Jarvis (who will be joined by Helio Castroneves) for the 10-hour race.

PETIT LE MANS STARTING GRID: Click here for the starting lineup l Lineup by car number

PETIT LE MANS: Info on how to watch

With the pole, MSR sliced the deficit to 14 points behind WTR, which will field the trio of Taylor, Filipe Albuquerque and Brendon Hartley in Saturday’s race.

“We really needed to put the car in this kind of position,” Blomqvist said. “It makes our life a little less stressful tomorrow. It would have given the No. 10 a bit more breathing space. It’s going to be a proper dogfight tomorrow. The guys gave me such a great car. It’s been fantastic this week so far, and it really came alive. I’m hugely thankful to the boys and girls at MSR for giving me the wagon today to execute my job.

“That was a big effort from me. I knew how important it was. It’s just awesome for the guys to give them some sort of reward as well. It’s always nice to be quick. If you do the pole, you know you’ve got a quick car.”

Though WTR has a series-leading four victories with the No. 10, MSR won the Rolex 24 at Daytona and has five runner-up finishes along with its three poles.

The strong performances of the ARX-05s ensure that an Acura will win the final championship in IMSA’s premier Daytona Prototype international (DPi) division, which is being rebranded as Grand Touring Prototype in the move to LMDh cars next season.

Taylor qualified third despite sliding into the Turn 5 gravel during the closing minutes of qualifying while pushing to gain points.

“Qualifying was important for points,” Taylor said. “Going into it, if we outqualified the No. 60 Meyer Shank Acura, they had a lot to lose in terms of championship points. So, we were trying to increase the gap over 20 points which would’ve made a big difference for tomorrow. We would have loved to get the pole and qualify ahead of the No. 60, but in the scheme of the points, it didn’t change a whole lot. I’m feeling good since it’s such a long race, and the No. 10 Konica Minolta Acura team does such a good job strategizing and putting us in a good position.

“I’m very confident in our lineup and our team compared to them over the course of 10 hours. I’d put my two teammates up against those guys any day. I think we are all feeling optimistic and strong for tomorrow.”

In other divisions, PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports (LMP2), Riley Motorsports (LMP3), VasserSullivan (GTD Pro) and Paul Miller Racing (GTD) captured pole positions.

The broadcast of the 10-hour race will begin Saturday at 12:10 p.m. ET on NBC, moving at 3 p.m. to USA Network.



Results by class

Fastest lap by driver

Fastest lap by driver after qualifying

Fastest lap by driver and class after qualifying

Fastest lap sequence in qualifying

Best sector times in qualifying

Time cards in qualifying

PRACTICE RESULTS: Session I l Session II l Session III