Kyle Larson’s High Limit Sprint Car Series adds second 2022 date

High Limit second date
High Limit Racing

After a successful debut on August 16th at Lincoln Park Speedway in Putnamville, Ind., Kyle Larson’s High Limit Sprint Car Series added a second date. The Sheldon Haudenschild High Limit Buckeye Brawl will be held on Tuesday, September 27 at Wayne County Speedway in Orrville, Ohio.

“I’m excited to play a part in bringing a big paying race to our local track,” said Ohio native Haudenschild in a press release. “Wayne County Speedway has proven capable of putting on well attended, competitive racing. Fans, teams, and drivers alike are what makes this possible.”

Haudenschild has eight World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series wins this year and sits fourth in their championship standings.

The High Limit Series was scheduled to run one event this year to test the concept, but with a full field and added promotional dollars coming in as late as race day, the demand was high enough to add at least a second date.

Michael “Buddy” Kofoid won the inaugural High Limit race over Justin Sanders and Cory Eliason. Larson finished 10th in that race after cutting a tire late in the event.

Thirty-five cars entered the inaugural series race, including four fulltime NASCAR Cup drivers. In addition to Larson, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. finished fourth and Alex Bowman sixth. Chase Briscoe failed to advance to the Main.

The first, full 12-race season launches in 2023 with support and live streaming coverage provided by FloRacing. Dates and venues for the inaugural 2023 full season will be announced at a later date.

Similar to the Open, the Buckeye Brawl will offer a lucrative purse, a $65,000 total A-Main purse with $22,022 to the race winner, but that payout could continue to swell right up until the cars take to the track.

“Really happy with how successful our first event went,” said Larson. “It’s pretty cool to have Sheldon, who is one of the best racers we have in our sport, want to help promote an event at his hometown track. It’s an opportunity we couldn’t pass up.”

Haudenschild will not race in the event so that he can focus on his duties as the promoter, according to the release.

Starting lineup grid for IMSA Petit Le Mans: Tom Blomqvist puts MSR on pole position

Petit Le Mans lineup

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar championship contender Tom Blomqvist put the Meyer Shank Racing Acura at the front of the starting lineup for the Motul Petit Le Mans at Michelin Road Atlanta.

Blomqvist turned a 1-minute, 8.55-second lap on the 2.54-mile circuit Friday to capture his third pole position for MSR this season. Earl Bamber qualified second in the No. 02 Cadillac for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Ricky Taylor was third in the No. 10 Acura of Wayne Taylor Racing, which enters Saturday’s season finale with a 19-point lead over the No. 60 of Blomqvist and Oliver Jarvis (who will be joined by Helio Castroneves) for the 10-hour race.

PETIT LE MANS STARTING GRID: Click here for the starting lineup l Lineup by car number

PETIT LE MANS: Info on how to watch

With the pole, MSR sliced the deficit to 14 points behind WTR, which will field the trio of Taylor, Filipe Albuquerque and Brendon Hartley in Saturday’s race.

“We really needed to put the car in this kind of position,” Blomqvist said. “It makes our life a little less stressful tomorrow. It would have given the No. 10 a bit more breathing space. It’s going to be a proper dogfight tomorrow. The guys gave me such a great car. It’s been fantastic this week so far, and it really came alive. I’m hugely thankful to the boys and girls at MSR for giving me the wagon today to execute my job.

“That was a big effort from me. I knew how important it was. It’s just awesome for the guys to give them some sort of reward as well. It’s always nice to be quick. If you do the pole, you know you’ve got a quick car.”

Though WTR has a series-leading four victories with the No. 10, MSR won the Rolex 24 at Daytona and has five runner-up finishes along with its three poles.

The strong performances of the ARX-05s ensure that an Acura will win the final championship in IMSA’s premier Daytona Prototype international (DPi) division, which is being rebranded as Grand Touring Prototype in the move to LMDh cars next season.

Taylor qualified third despite sliding into the Turn 5 gravel during the closing minutes of qualifying while pushing to gain points.

“Qualifying was important for points,” Taylor said. “Going into it, if we outqualified the No. 60 Meyer Shank Acura, they had a lot to lose in terms of championship points. So, we were trying to increase the gap over 20 points which would’ve made a big difference for tomorrow. We would have loved to get the pole and qualify ahead of the No. 60, but in the scheme of the points, it didn’t change a whole lot. I’m feeling good since it’s such a long race, and the No. 10 Konica Minolta Acura team does such a good job strategizing and putting us in a good position.

“I’m very confident in our lineup and our team compared to them over the course of 10 hours. I’d put my two teammates up against those guys any day. I think we are all feeling optimistic and strong for tomorrow.”

In other divisions, PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports (LMP2), Riley Motorsports (LMP3), VasserSullivan (GTD Pro) and Paul Miller Racing (GTD) captured pole positions.

The broadcast of the 10-hour race will begin Saturday at 12:10 p.m. ET on NBC, moving at 3 p.m. to USA Network.



Results by class

Fastest lap by driver

Fastest lap by driver after qualifying

Fastest lap by driver and class after qualifying

Fastest lap sequence in qualifying

Best sector times in qualifying

Time cards in qualifying

PRACTICE RESULTS: Session I l Session II l Session III