IndyCar results, points after Portland


IndyCar results and points after Portland: The NTT IndyCar Series will enter the Sept. 11 season finale at WeatherTech Laguna Seca Raceway with its closest championship battle in 19 years.

There are 41 points separating the five drivers who remain eligible for the championship. Will Power leads the standings by 20 points over Josef Newgarden and Scott Dixon with Marcus Ericsson (minus-39 points) and Grand Prix of Portland winner Scott McLaughlin (-41) also in the hunt.

There was a 30-point spread from first to fifth entering the 2003 Indy Racing League finale (Dixon won his first championship by 18 points over Gil De Ferran).

McLaughlin won from the pole position Sunday at Portland as Alex Palou (12th) and Pato O’Ward (fourth) were eliminated from championship contention.

Here are the IndyCar results and points standings Sunday after the Grand Prix of Portland:


Click here for the official box score from the 110-lap race on a 12-turn, 1.964-mile road course in Portland, Oregon. Click here for the lap leader summary.

Full lap chart

Best section times

Full section data

Event summary

Pit stop summary

Here is the finishing order in the Grand Prix of Portland with starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (1) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 110, Running
2. (2) Will Power, Chevrolet, 110, Running
3. (16) Scott Dixon, Honda, 110, Running
4. (5) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 110, Running
5. (11) Graham Rahal, Honda, 110, Running
6. (7) Colton Herta, Honda, 110, Running
7. (9) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 110, Running
8. (8) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 110, Running
9. (14) Callum Ilott, Chevrolet, 110, Running
10. (6) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 110, Running
11. (18) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 110, Running
12. (4) Alex Palou, Honda, 110, Running
13. (13) Kyle Kirkwood, Chevrolet, 110, Running
14. (10) David Malukas, Honda, 110, Running
15. (17) Jack Harvey, Honda, 110, Running
16. (24) Devlin DeFrancesco, Honda, 110, Running
17. (21) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 110, Running
18. (22) Takuma Sato, Honda, 110, Running
19. (15) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 110, Running
20. (12) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 110, Running
21. (3) Christian Lundgaard, Honda, 110, Running
22. (25) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet, 109, Running
23. (19) Simon Pagenaud, Honda, 100, Running
24. (23) Jimmie Johnson, Honda, 82, Contact
25. (20) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 67, Mechanical

Winner’s average speed: 111.493 mph. Time of race: 01:56:15.6892. Margin of victory: 1.1792 seconds. Cautions: 1 for 4 laps. Lead changes: 9 among 4 drivers. Lap Leaders: McLaughlin 1-20, Lundgaard 21, Rahal 22, Ilott 23, McLaughlin 24-47, Power 48, Rahal 49, McLaughlin 50-78, Power 79, McLaughlin 80-110.


Click here for the points tally in Sunday’s race.

Here are the points standings after 16 of 17 races this season:



Engine manufacturers

Pit stop performance

Top 10 in points: Power 523, Newgarden 503, Dixon 503, Ericsson 484, McLaughlin 482, Palou 457, O’Ward 456, Herta 362, Rossi 361, Rosenqvist 360.

Rest of the standings: Rahal 333, VeeKay 315, Grosjean 302, Pagenaud 301, Lundgaard 293, Malukas 288, Daly 261, Castroneves 252, Sato 251, Ilott 213, Johnson 200, Harvey 199, DeFrancesco 191, Kirkwood 174, Kellett 128, Tony Kanaan 78, Ed Carpenter 75, Santino Ferrucci 71, Tatiana Calderon 58, JR Hildebrand 53, Juan Pablo Montoya 44, Simona De Silvestro 26, Marco Andretti 17, Sage Karam 14, Stefan Wilson 10.

2023 MotoGP schedule announced, highlighted by trips to India and Kazakhstan

2023 MotoGP schedule
Hasan Bratic / Getty Images

A new opening venue and the addition of two Grands Prix in India and Kazakhstan will highlight the 2023 MotoGP schedule.

The 2023 MotoGP season will kick off March 24th with the opening round in Portugal instead of the typical trip to Qatar. Work on the Losail International Circuit pushed their date back to the penultimate weekend after the series finishes a series of races around the Pacific Rim.

Following Portugal, MotoGP heads to Argentina and the Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas for their only visit to the United States before heading back to Europe for most of the next 10 rounds.

Interrupting the long European stint will be the series’ first visit to the Sokol International Circuit in Kazakhstan on July 7, 2023. The traditional summer break will be three weeks and then MotoGP heads to England for the British GP in August.

After three more European rounds at Austria, Catalunya and San Marino, the second new date on the calendar will come on the 16-turn, Buddh International Circuit for a September 24 race date. Both the India and Kazakhstan races are subject to homologation and approval by the circuit.

The next six races will be held in Asia and Oceania before Qatar and Valencia close out the schedule.

“We’re very proud to announce that Buddh International Circuit will be on the 2023 calendar,” said Carmelo Ezpeleta, CEO of Dorna, which manages the series. “We have a lot of fans in India and we’re excited to be able to bring the sport to them.

“India is also a key market for the motorcycle industry and therefore, by extension, for MotoGP as the pinnacle of the two-wheeled world. We very much look forward to racing at Buddh International Circuit and can’t wait to welcome the fans through the gates to see this incredible sport in person.”

One of two new races announced for 2022, in Finland, did not materialize this season and has not been added to the 2023 MotoGP schedule. In addition, the Aragon GP has been removed to keep the rounds at 21.

2023 Provisional Schedule

Portugal GP, Algarve, March 26
Argentina GP, Termas de Río Hondo, April 2
American GP, Circuit of the Americas, April 16
Spanish GP, Jerez, April 30
French GP, Le Mans, May 14
Italian GP, Mugello, June 11
German GP, Sachsenring, June 18
Dutch GP, Assen, June 25
Kazakhstan GP, Sokol, July 9 *
British GP, Silverstone, August 6
Austrian GP, Red Bull Ring, August 20
Catalan GP, Catalunya, September 3
San Marino GP, Misano, September 10
Indian GP, Buddh, September 24 *
Japanese GP, Motegi, October 1
Indonesia GP, Mandalika Street Circuit, October 15
Australian GP, Philip Island, October 22
Thailand GP, Chang International Circuit, October 29
Malaysian GP, Sepang, November 12
Qatar GP, Losail International Circuit, November 19
Valencia GP, Ricardo Tormo, November 26

* subject to approval