Kyle Wyman wins New Jersey King of the Baggers as Tyler O’Hara takes the title

Wyman King Baggers O'Hara

Kyle Wyman scored his third win in the seven-round Mission King of the Baggers series, but it wasn’t enough to catch Tyler O’Hara in the points’ standings as the Indian Challenger finished 0.655 seconds behind in the runner-up position.

With rain soaking New Jersey Motorsports Park, three riders entered the season finale with a mathematical chance to win. O’Hara had a one-point lead heading into the penultimate round in Brainerd, Minn. and finished third before losing out to Travis Wyman in second. With a five-point gap from first to second and another four points back to third, the New Jersey race had a winner take all feel – so long as nothing went wrong between the top two contenders.

And if that happened, last year’s champion Kyle Wyman was in position to steal their thunder and keep the red plate affixed to his Harley-Davidson Road Glide.

The three title contenders got off the line together. In spite of the wet conditions, they pushed one another hard through the opening circuit. On Lap 2, Travis exited the picture after hitting a slick patch and dumping his bike. He managed to regain his mount in muddy, wet conditions but could not ride forward from ninth.

The crew tried to single that O’Hara’s main competition was out of the race, but the mist of war, (and of course, the rain), kept him from seeing the pit board.

And so, the attention focused on the leaders once again with Kyle withstanding pressure from O’Hara.

With a 20-second gap on the field, O’Hara needed only to finish where he rode. His competitive spirit almost got the best of him as he experienced a dodgy moment in the final laps before deciding discretion was the best course of action. As O’Hara crossed the line, his left saddlebag popped open in celebration to wave at the crowd.

On the strength of one win, two second-place finishes, five total podiums and a worst result of fourth, O’Hara beat Travis Wyman by 10 points.

“I had no idea that Travis was out, to tell you the truth,” O’Hara said. “I was really just trying to stay present and focused on the task at hand and my breathing. Kyle was slowing us down a little bit, and I was looking at my board that said +five [lengths] and then +1.2 [seconds], but I really had no idea Travis was out. Then we got a little bit sporty with Kyle there and I backed it down a little. Did what I had to do to get the job done today.”

The New Jersey race winner, Kyle Wyman finished third in the standings.

“What a nerve-racking deal,” Wyman said. “Having rain in New Jersey is never fun and I don’t ever want to that again. A hard seven laps but the bike felt pretty good. I’m really bummed that my brother crashed out, but I’m sure he was giving it his all like he always does – and as I always do.”

Michael Barnes rounded out the podium with his first of the season. This came on the heels of a fourth in Round 6 at Brainerd.

Click here for complete results.

Winner Josef Newgarden earns $3.666 million from a record Indy 500 purse of $17 million


INDIANAPOLIS — The first Indy 500 victory for Josef Newgarden also was the richest in race history from a record 2023 purse of just more than $17 million.

The two-time NTT IndyCar Series champion, who continued his celebration Monday morning at Indianapolis Motor Speedway earned $3.666 million for winning the 107th running of the Greatest Spectacle in Racing.

The purse and winner’s share both are the largest in the history of the Indianapolis 500.

It’s the second consecutive year that the Indy 500 purse set a record after the 2022 Indy 500 became the first to crack the $16 million mark (nearly doubling the 2021 purse that offered a purse of $8,854,565 after a crowd limited to 135,000 because of the COVID-19 pandemic).

The average payout for IndyCar drivers was $500,600 (exceeding last year’s average of $485,000).

Indianapolis Motor Speedway owner Roger Penske, whose team also fields Newgarden’s No. 2 Dallara-Chevrolet, had made raising purses a priority since buying the track in 2020. But Penske but was unable to post big money purses until the race returned to full capacity grandstands last year.

The largest Indy 500 purse before this year was $14.4 million for the 2008 Indy 500 won by Scott Dixon (whose share was $2,988,065). Ericsson’s haul made him the second Indy 500 winner to top $3 million (2009 winner Helio Castroneves won $3,048,005.

Runner-up Marcus Ericsson won $1.043 million after falling short by 0.0974 seconds in the fourth-closest finish in Indy 500 history.

The 107th Indy 500 drew a crowd of at least 330,000 that was the largest since the sellout for the 100th running in 2016, and the second-largest in more than two decades, according to track officials.

“This is the greatest race in the world, and it was an especially monumental Month of May featuring packed grandstands and intense on-track action,” Penske Entertainment president and CEO Mark Miles said in a release. “Now, we have the best end card possible for the 107th Running of the Indianapolis 500: a record-breaking purse for the history books.”

Benjamin Pedersen was named the Indy 500 rookie of the year, earning a $50,000 bonus.

The race’s purse is determined through contingency and special awards from IMS and IndyCar. The awards were presented Monday night in the annual Indy 500 Victory Celebration at the JW Marriott in downtown Indianapolis.

The payouts for the 107th Indy 500:

1. Josef Newgarden, $3,666,000
2. Marcus Ericsson, $1,043,000
3. Santino Ferrucci, $481,800
4. Alex Palou, $801,500
5. Alexander Rossi, $574,000
6. Scott Dixon, $582,000
7. Takuma Sato, $217,300
8. Conor Daly, $512,000
9. Colton Herta, $506,500
10. Rinus VeeKay, $556,500
11. Ryan Hunter‐Reay, $145,500
12. Callum Ilott, $495,500
13. Devlin DeFrancesco, $482,000
14. Scott McLaughlin, $485,000
15. Helio Castroneves, $481,500
16. Tony Kanaan, $105,000
17. Marco Andretti, $102,000
18. Jack Harvey, $472,000
19. Christian Lundgaard, $467,500
20. Ed Carpenter, $102,000
21. Benjamin Pedersen (R), $215,300
22. Graham Rahal, $565,500*
23. Will Power, $488,000
24. Pato O’Ward, $516,500
25. Simon Pagenaud, $465,500
26. Agustín Canapino (R), $156,300
27. Felix Rosenqvist, $278,300
28. Kyle Kirkwood, $465,500
29. David Malukas, $462,000
30. Romain Grosjean, $462,000
31. Sting Ray Robb (R), $463,000
32. RC Enerson (R), $103,000
33.  Katherine Legge, $102,000

*–Broken down between two teams, $460,000 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, $105,500 Dreyer & Reinbold Racing/Cusick Motorsports