Francesco Bagnaia wins MotoGP Malaysian Grand Prix one week after taking championship lead


One week after taking the points’ lead in Australia, Francesco Bagnaia padded it with a win in the MotoGP Malaysian Grand Prix with his closest title contender, Fabio Quartararo, finishing third. The gap between first and second in the standings is now 23 points in a series that offers 25 to win and none for a rider finishing outside the top 15.

This is the first time since 2017 that a MotoGP title fight has gone all the way to the final round. But for Quartararo to win the championship, he will need to win and have Bagnaia finish worse than 14th. Without a win by Quartararo, Bagnaia will be the champion even if he doesn’t earn points.

While Bagnaia’s race ended on the highest of notes, the weekend got off to a rocky start. He crashed twice on Saturday, in the third practice session and second qualification session. Those difficulties forced him to roll off the grid ninth. The news was worse for Quartararo, who also crashed in practice and fractured a finger. That caused him to struggle to qualify 12th.

Both riders got off to strong starts and climbed through the field. Bagnaia improved from ninth to second on the opening lap as pole winner Jorge Martin held onto the top spot.

Quartararo rode up to fifth from his 12th-place start.

Martin crashed from the lead on Lap 7 and handed the lead to Bagnaia, but Enea Bastianini was in tow and the two exchanged the lead during the final laps. Bagnaia held off a furious charge to win the MotoGP Malaysian Grand Prix by a slim 0.27 seconds.

For Bagnaia it was his seventh win of the season as he sets his sights on his first premier class championship.

Aleix Espargaro entered the race third in the standings with a mathematical shot at the title, but his race went away on Lap 3 when a slight mistake dropped him to 14th in the running order. He rebounded to 10th at the checkers, but the six points that went with that result were not enough to keep the dream alive.

The MotoGP Grand Prix series leaves the Malaysian GP behind and heads for the season finale in Spain on November, 6.

In Moto 2, Ai Ogura beat Tony Arbolino and Aron Canet in a hotly contested race that saw a gap of just 0.247 seconds from first to third and less than a second to 15th-place Lorenzo Dalla Porta.

Cameron Beaubier was the highest finishing American rider in ninth with Joe Roberts in 11th.

NEOM McLaren Formula E announces Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast for 2023 season

McLaren Formula E Hughes
McLaren Racing

Doubling down on their commitment to electric auto sports, McLaren Racing announced Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast to compete in the 2023 Formula E Series (FE), which completes their driver lineup.

The NEOM McLaren FE team was formed by the acquisition of the Mercedes-EQ Formula E team that won the 2021 and 2022 championships with Stoffel Vandoorne and Nyck de Vries behind the wheel.

“Today’s announcement feels like a long time coming,” said Ian James, managing director of NEOM McLaren Electric Racing in a release. “Since May this year, when we first announced McLaren Racing’s entry into Formula E, we have been working tirelessly to get in place the best possible team and structure for sustainable success.

“On the one hand, we have been working on the retention of the amazing talent that already was in place before going into the transitional phase. I’m proud to say I think we’ve done a great job on that front.

“On the other hand, we have been focusing on putting in place new processes and new talent – and the latter includes the drivers.”

The driver lineup clasps the two hands together.

Hughes brings 10 years racing experience in single seater cars, including a role with the acquired Mercedes-EQ team as a reserve and development driver for the past two seasons. He is the 2013 BRDC Formula 4 champion and has multiple wins in Formula 2, including two in 2020.

Announced in August, Rast joins the team after earning two podium finishes and six top-fives in 22 career Formula E starts for Audi Sport ABT before returning to the DTM Series last year. Rast’s best finish in Formula E came in the Puebla E Prix when he finished second to teammate Lucas di Grassi by less than a half second.

McLaren’s commitment to Formula E comes one year after they entered the Extreme E rally series in 2022 with Tanner Foust and Emma Gilmour in the driver lineup. After a modest start to the season, the McLaren XE drivers crossed the finish line first in Round 4 in Chile, but were assessed a time penalty that dropped them to fifth. Last week in the season finale in Uruguay, they held onto a hard-earned second place finish.