Dennis Erb Jr. leads World of Outlaws Late Model field into World Finals

Erb Outlaws Late Model
Jacy Norgaard / World of Outlaws

With an insurmountable 158-point lead, Dennis Erb, Jr. will be crowned the World of Outlaws Late Model champion Saturday night at the Dirt Track at Charlotte Motor Speedway while Tanner English and Max Blair battle for second in the standings on November 2-3 and 5 at the Late Model World Finals.

Erb’s title will end a three-year run by Brandon Sheppard, who competed only part time with the series this year. Sheppard moved into the Lucas Oil Late Model Series in 2022, where he captured seven wins in 54 starts.

Erb’s Outlaws’ point lead was built on the back of four wins, 21 top-fives and 32 top-10s in 40 starts with three races remaining. He leads in all categories among full-time drivers.

His last victories were earned back-to-back in a two-night show this June at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 in Pevely, Mo. and while he has not won in 18 races since, he earned 15 top-10s. Erb’s last five attempts ended in top-fives, including a second-place finish at Humboldt Speedway three races ago.

MORE: Brad Sweet and David Gravel are “essentially tied” in Outlaws Sprints

While winning any of the final three races is not essential for Erb to take the title, it is nonetheless important. Mike Marlar currently has the most Outlaws wins on the season with five in 16 starts. Last year’s champion Sheppard has four wins in 19 races to accompany his seven in Lucas Oil. Jonathan Davenport also has four trophies on his mantel in nine starts plus nine victories in the other major Late Model sanction in 29 starts there.

Erb already has a win in the season finale at Charlotte. In 2017, he earned his only win of that season in 10 starts. His victory came in Race 2 of the World Finals ahead of Marlar. The night before, Erb finished second to Sheppard, so pride is on the line.

Max Blair and Tanner English are embroiled in a tight battle for both Rookie of the Year and runner-up in Outlaws Late Model points. Jacy Norgard, World of Outlaws

The most interesting battle of the week is the battle for Rookie of the Year honors, which is also a contest to see who will finish second in the standings.

Entering Wednesday night’s race, English holds a 20-point advantage over Blair with season tallies that are almost identical. English and Blair hold two wins each and both have scored 11 top-fives. English holds a two-race lead in top-10s with 27.

But momentum is on Blair’s side. In the most recent round at US 36 Raceway in Osborn, Mo., English broke the frame on his right front and retired on Lap 17. Blair finished sixth to close the gap.

Blair also has experience on his side with five previous appearances in this race and a best of ninth earned last year. English is making his debut in the World of Outlaws Late Model Finals.

NEOM McLaren Formula E announces Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast for 2023 season

McLaren Formula E Hughes
McLaren Racing

Doubling down on their commitment to electric auto sports, McLaren Racing announced Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast to compete in the 2023 Formula E Series (FE), which completes their driver lineup.

The NEOM McLaren FE team was formed by the acquisition of the Mercedes-EQ Formula E team that won the 2021 and 2022 championships with Stoffel Vandoorne and Nyck de Vries behind the wheel.

“Today’s announcement feels like a long time coming,” said Ian James, managing director of NEOM McLaren Electric Racing in a release. “Since May this year, when we first announced McLaren Racing’s entry into Formula E, we have been working tirelessly to get in place the best possible team and structure for sustainable success.

“On the one hand, we have been working on the retention of the amazing talent that already was in place before going into the transitional phase. I’m proud to say I think we’ve done a great job on that front.

“On the other hand, we have been focusing on putting in place new processes and new talent – and the latter includes the drivers.”

The driver lineup clasps the two hands together.

Hughes brings 10 years racing experience in single seater cars, including a role with the acquired Mercedes-EQ team as a reserve and development driver for the past two seasons. He is the 2013 BRDC Formula 4 champion and has multiple wins in Formula 2, including two in 2020.

Announced in August, Rast joins the team after earning two podium finishes and six top-fives in 22 career Formula E starts for Audi Sport ABT before returning to the DTM Series last year. Rast’s best finish in Formula E came in the Puebla E Prix when he finished second to teammate Lucas di Grassi by less than a half second.

McLaren’s commitment to Formula E comes one year after they entered the Extreme E rally series in 2022 with Tanner Foust and Emma Gilmour in the driver lineup. After a modest start to the season, the McLaren XE drivers crossed the finish line first in Round 4 in Chile, but were assessed a time penalty that dropped them to fifth. Last week in the season finale in Uruguay, they held onto a hard-earned second place finish.