Stefan Wilson returns to attempt fifth Indy 500 in an entry for Dreyer & Reinbold and Cusick

Doug Mathews/Penske Entertainment

Stefan Wilson will attempt to make his fifth Indy 500 next year in a combined entry fielded by Dreyer & Reinbold Racing and Cusick Motorsports.

The British driver will pilot the No. 24 Chevrolet-powered car. Dreyer & Reinbold, which fielded two cars in last year’s 500, still plans on a second entry that was not part of Thursday’s announcement.

Dreyer & Reinbold has entered and qualified 45 cars in the Indy 500, dating back to 2000 with a best finish of fourth in 2012. Cusick Motorsports was created as a marketing and business-to-business partner and chose Dreyer & Reinbold as a partner for its third attempt at “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing.”

Wilson has a career-best finish of 15th in the 2018 Indy 500 and was the leader with four laps remaining until he had to pit for fuel. He spends most of the year trying to put together the funding for an Indy 500 ride, but this last season also ran three IMSA sports car races, including the Rolex 24 at Daytona.

“I’ve been very impressed with how hard DRR has worked at and focused on the 500,” said Wilson. “It’s such an honor for me to join them in partnership with Cusick Motorsports and work with them on our collective goal of trying to win the Indy 500. There’s a great opportunity here for us to all grow together. I hope this leads to more 500’s, and maybe even more races together.”

Wilson, the younger brother of the late Justin Wilson, ran the 500 last year in a Cusick entry partnered with DragonSpeed Racing. Justin Wilson spent the 2010 and 2011 seasons driving for DRR and scored a pair of podiums.

“There’s history here with this team,” Wilson said. “It feels great to be rejoining them in a sense.”

Cusick Motorsports was founded in 2021 by Don Cusick, and the team is headquartered at The Thermal Club in California. The facility will host IndyCar preseason testing in February for its first IndyCar activity at the development, which has four asphalt motorsport tracks at the east end of the Coachella Valley.

“As soon as the checkered flag fell on the Indy 500 this year, we set out to find the best possible partner for the future,” said Cusick. “We have immense respect for what Dreyer & Reinbold Racing have done both on and off track over the years and quickly identified them as our ideal partner for this endeavor.”

NEOM McLaren Formula E announces Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast for 2023 season

McLaren Formula E Hughes
McLaren Racing

Doubling down on their commitment to electric auto sports, McLaren Racing announced Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast to compete in the 2023 Formula E Series (FE), which completes their driver lineup.

The NEOM McLaren FE team was formed by the acquisition of the Mercedes-EQ Formula E team that won the 2021 and 2022 championships with Stoffel Vandoorne and Nyck de Vries behind the wheel.

“Today’s announcement feels like a long time coming,” said Ian James, managing director of NEOM McLaren Electric Racing in a release. “Since May this year, when we first announced McLaren Racing’s entry into Formula E, we have been working tirelessly to get in place the best possible team and structure for sustainable success.

“On the one hand, we have been working on the retention of the amazing talent that already was in place before going into the transitional phase. I’m proud to say I think we’ve done a great job on that front.

“On the other hand, we have been focusing on putting in place new processes and new talent – and the latter includes the drivers.”

The driver lineup clasps the two hands together.

Hughes brings 10 years racing experience in single seater cars, including a role with the acquired Mercedes-EQ team as a reserve and development driver for the past two seasons. He is the 2013 BRDC Formula 4 champion and has multiple wins in Formula 2, including two in 2020.

Announced in August, Rast joins the team after earning two podium finishes and six top-fives in 22 career Formula E starts for Audi Sport ABT before returning to the DTM Series last year. Rast’s best finish in Formula E came in the Puebla E Prix when he finished second to teammate Lucas di Grassi by less than a half second.

McLaren’s commitment to Formula E comes one year after they entered the Extreme E rally series in 2022 with Tanner Foust and Emma Gilmour in the driver lineup. After a modest start to the season, the McLaren XE drivers crossed the finish line first in Round 4 in Chile, but were assessed a time penalty that dropped them to fifth. Last week in the season finale in Uruguay, they held onto a hard-earned second place finish.