IndyCar results, points after St. Petersburg GP


IndyCar results and points after Grand Prix of St Petersburg: In one of the most chaotic season openers in NTT IndyCar Series history, Marcus Ericsson snatched the win from Pato O’Ward with four laps remaining Sunday.

It was the final plot twist in a race that was full of drama, starting on the opening lap when Devlin DeFrancesco went sailing skyward after being T-boned by Marcus Pedersen in a Turn 4 multicar pileup.

Kyle Kirkwood also went airborne after a collision with Jack Harvey on a Lap 41 restart.

There were no serious injuries, though Harvey was checked and release at a nearby hospital for precautionary reasons.

The race featured many other incidents, including contact that left Colton Herta steaming at Will Power and a crash between the dominant cars of Romain Grosjean and Scott McLaughlin.

Here are the IndyCar results and points standings Sunday after the Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg season opener:


Click here for the official box score from the 100-lap race on a 14-turn, 1.8-mile street course in St. Petersburg, Florida. Click here for the lap leader summary.

Full lap chart

Best section times

Full section data

Event summary

Pit stop summary

Here is the finishing order in the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg with starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (4) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 100, Running
2. (3) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 100, Running
3. (9) Scott Dixon, Honda, 100, Running
4. (12) Alexander Rossi, Chevrolet, 100, Running
5. (22) Callum Ilott, Chevrolet, 100, Running
6. (20) Graham Rahal, Honda, 100, Running
7. (10) Will Power, Chevrolet, 100, Running
8. (7) Alex Palou, Honda, 100, Running
9. (11) Christian Lundgaard, Honda, 100, Running
10. (16) David Malukas, Honda, 100, Running
11. (13) Marcus Armstrong, Honda, 100, Running
12. (21) Agustin Canapino, Chevrolet, 100, Running
13. (6) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 99, Running
14. (26) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 99, Running
15. (5) Kyle Kirkwood, Honda, 97, Running
16. (23) Sting Ray Robb, Honda, 96, Off Course
17. (14) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 95, Running
18. (1) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 71, Contact
19. (8) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 51, Retired
20. (2) Colton Herta, Honda, 49, Contact
21. (24) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 41, Contact
22. (19) Jack Harvey, Honda, 41, Contact
23. (15) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 0, Contact
24. (17) Santino Ferrucci, Chevrolet, 0, Contact
25. (18) Devlin DeFrancesco, Honda, 0, Contact
26. (25) Simon Pagenaud, Honda, 0, Contact
27. (27) Benjamin Pedersen, Chevrolet, 0, Contact

Winner’s average speed: 86.047 mph; Time of Race: 2:05:30.7907; Margin of victory: 2.4113 seconds; Cautions: Six for 26 laps; Lead changes: Six among six drivers; Lap leaders: Grosjean 1-31; McLaughlin 32-34; Dixon 35-37; McLaughlin 38-71; Malukas 72-73; O’Ward 74-96; Ericsson 97-100.


Click here for the points tally in Sunday’s race.

Here are the points standings after the season opener:



Engine manufacturers

Pit stop performance

Top 10 in points: Ericsson 51, O’Ward 41, Dixon 36, Rossi 32, Ilott 30, Rahal 28, Power 26, Palou 24, Lundgaard 22, Malukas 21.

Rest of the standings: , McLaughlin 20, Armstrong 19, Canapino 18, Daly 16, Kirkwood 15, Grosjean 14, Robb 14, Newgarden 13, Rosenqvist 11, Herta 10, VeeKay 9, Harvey 8, Castroneves 7, Ferrucci 6, DeFrancesco 5, Pagenaud 5, Pedersen 5.

Next race: April 2, Texas Motor Speedway.

Saturday’s Supercross Round 11 in Seattle: How to watch, start times, schedules, streams


With three multiple winners now vying for the championship, the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series heads to Round 11 at Lumen Field in Seattle, Washington.

Chase Sexton earned his second victory of the season in Detroit when Aaron Plessinger fell on the final lap. Though he was penalized seven points for disobeying a flag, Sexton is third in the championship race. The Honda rider trails leader Cooper Webb (two victories) by 17 points, and defending series champion Eli Tomac (five wins) is three points behind Webb in second with seven races remaining.

Tomac won last year in Seattle on the way to his second season title.

Honda riders have a Supercross-leading 20 victories in the Seattle event but none at Lumen Field since Justin Barcia in 2013. Tomac and Barcia are the only past 450 Seattke winners entered in Saturday’s event.

Here are the pertinent details for watching Round 11 of the 2023 Supercross season in Seattle:

(All times are ET)

BROADCAST/STREAMING SCHEDULE: TV coverage of Round 11 will begin Saturday at 10 p.m. ET streaming on Peacock with a re-air Monday at 1 a.m. ET on CNBC. The Race Day Live show (including qualifying) will begin on Peacock at 4:30 p.m. ET Saturday.

NBC Sports will have exclusive live coverage of races, qualifiers and heats for the record 31 events in SuperMotocross. The main events will be presented on Peacock, NBC, USA Network, CNBC, and NBC Sports digital platforms.

Peacock will become the home of the SuperMotocross World Championship series in 2023 with live coverage of all races, qualifying, and heats from January to October. There will be 23 races livestreamed exclusively on Peacock, including a SuperMotocross World Championship Playoff event. The platform also will provide on-demand replays of every race. Click here for the full schedule.

POINTS STANDINGS: 450 division l 250 division

ENTRY LISTS450 division l 250 division

EVENT SCHEDULE (all times ET): 

Here are the start times for Saturday’s Supercross Round 11 in Seattle, according to the Monster Energy Supercross schedule from the AMA:

4:50 p.m.: 250SX Group B Qualifying 1
5:05 p.m.: 250SX Group A Qualifying 1
5:20 p.m.: 450SX Group A Qualifying 1
5:35 p.m.: 450SX Group B Qualifying 1
6:25 p.m.: 250SX Group B Qualifying 2
6:40 p.m.: 250SX Group A Qualifying 2
7:55 p.m.: 450SX Group A Qualifying 2
8:10 p.m.: 450SX Group B Qualifying 2
10:06 p.m.: 250SX Heat 1
10:20 p.m.: 250SX Heat 2
10:34 p.m.: 450SX Heat 1
10:48 p.m.: 450SX Heat 2
11:22 p.m.: 250SX Last Chance Qualifier
11:34 p.m.: 450SX Last Chance Qualifier
11:54 p.m.: 250SX Main Event
12:28 a.m.: 450SX Main Event

TRACK LAYOUTClick here to view the track map


FINAL 2022 STANDINGS: 450 points standings | 250 East points standings250 West points standings


ROUND 1: Eli Tomac opens title defense with victory

ROUND 2: Tomac ties Ricky Carmichael on Supercross wins list

ROUND 3: Tomac holds off Cooper Webb again

ROUND 4: Chase Sexton wins Anaheim Triple Crown

ROUND 5: Eli Tomac leads wire to wire in Houston

ROUND 6: Cooper Webb breaks through in Tampa

ROUND 7: Webb wins again in Arlington

ROUND 8: Tomac wins Daytona for the seventh time

ROUND 9: Ken Roczen scores first victory since 2022

ROUND 10: Chase Sexton inherits Detroit victory but docked points


Five things to watch in the 2023 Supercross season

Austin Forkner out for 2023 Supercross season

Malcolm Stewart aims for 450 breakthrough

A new attitude for Adam Cianciarulo in 2023

Ken Roczen signs with Suzuki

Hunter and Jett Lawrence walk a fine line with competition and fans

Three talented rookies move up to 450

Jett Lawrence wants to run 450 division for SMX playoffs