Starting lineup grid for Twelve Hours of Sebring: Pipo Derani puts Cadillac on pole

1 Comment

Pipo Derani led a 1-2 sweep of the front row for Cadillac Racing in the starting lineup grid for the 71st Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring.

Derani turned a lap of 1 minute, 45.836 seconds in the Action Express-prepared No. 31 Cadillac, and Sebastien Bourdais qualified second in the No. 01 Cadillac fielded by Chip Ganassi Racing on the 17-turn, 3.74-mile Sebring International Raceway.

It’s the first pole for Cadillac in the new Grand Touring Prototype category, which introduced hybrid engines to the premier prototype class this year. It’s the first pole position since the 2021 season finale for Derani, who co-drives the Cadillac V-Series R with Alexander Sims and Jack Aitken.

STARTING GRID: Click here for the Twelve Hours of Sebring lineup l Lineup by car number

FULL QUALIFYING RESULTS: Click here for Friday’s speeds

HOW TO WATCH THE TWELVE HOURS OF SEBRING: Schedules, start times, entry lists

“It shows we’ve been working hard since Daytona,” the Brazilian told IMSA Radio’s Shea Adam. “We showed promise there but perhaps were a little behind some of our rivals. To get here with a very competitive package is fantastic. It’s good to be on pole. It’s been a while.

“We’ve been coming back from a very difficult season last year, slowly step by step getting back to what Action Express knows how to do. We’re really happy to be on pole for the second race of the season. Enjoy the moment, it’s a long race, but it’s good to be on pole.”

Derani has four victories at Sebring, most recently in 2020, and he believes a half day on the bumpy track could be a stiffer test in the second outing for the LMDh prototypes than 24 hours a Daytona International Speedway.

“It’s a really difficult track on man and machine,” he said. “Despite having done a 24-hour race at Daytona, I think this is really demanding on the car to the point we might experience new things throughout the race just because of the nature of the track. We’re expecting that we’ll continue to learn about our cars. They are so very new, and there are things we are constantly developing. It’s going to be one of those races where you find yourself in the middle thinking, ‘Oh, I didn’t think about this. We could have used this tool or that tool.’

“The cars are technologically advanced to the point where sometimes you have five tools to fix the same problem. Those are the learning curves we’re having and this is the second race for these cars. On the competitive side, it’s such a difficult race. We’ll try to stay cool.”

Ricky Taylor was third in an Acura for Wayne Taylor Racing, which beat the No. 60 ARX-06 of Meyer Shank Racing. Mathieu Jaminet was fifth in the Porsche Penske Motorsport No. 6 Porsche 963, and Augusto Farfus was the top BMW M Team RLL driver in fifth with the No. 24 BMW M Hybrid V8.

There were two post-qualifying infractions:

The No. 57 car in GTD failed to meet minimum ride height and will start from the rear.

The No. 79 car in GTD Pro failed to meet minimum ride height and will start from the rear.

Here are the pole-sitters in other categories for the endurance race classic on the 17-turn, 3.74-mile road course:

LMP2: Ben Keating, No. 52 PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports ORECA, 1:51.780

LMP3: Glenn van Berlo, No. 36 Andretti Autosport Ligier JS P320, 1:55.215

GTD Pro: Antonio Garcia, No. 3 Corvette Racing Corvette C8.R, 1:59.315

GTD: Kyle Marcelli, No. 93 Racers Edge Motorsports with WTR Acura NSX GT3 Evo, 1:59.714



Results by class

Fastest lap by driver

Fastest lap by driver after qualifying

Fastest lap by driver and class after qualifying

Best sector times

Fastest lap sequence

PRACTICE RESULTS: Session I l Session II l Session III l Session IV

Saturday’s Supercross Round 11 in Seattle: How to watch, start times, schedules, streams


With three multiple winners now vying for the championship, the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series heads to Round 11 at Lumen Field in Seattle, Washington.

Chase Sexton earned his second victory of the season in Detroit when Aaron Plessinger fell on the final lap. Though he was penalized seven points for disobeying a flag, Sexton is third in the championship race. The Honda rider trails leader Cooper Webb (two victories) by 17 points, and defending series champion Eli Tomac (five wins) is three points behind Webb in second with seven races remaining.

Tomac won last year in Seattle on the way to his second season title.

Honda riders have a Supercross-leading 20 victories in the Seattle event but none at Lumen Field since Justin Barcia in 2013. Tomac and Barcia are the only past 450 Seattke winners entered in Saturday’s event.

Here are the pertinent details for watching Round 11 of the 2023 Supercross season in Seattle:

(All times are ET)

BROADCAST/STREAMING SCHEDULE: TV coverage of Round 11 will begin Saturday at 10 p.m. ET streaming on Peacock with a re-air Monday at 1 a.m. ET on CNBC. The Race Day Live show (including qualifying) will begin on Peacock at 4:30 p.m. ET Saturday.

NBC Sports will have exclusive live coverage of races, qualifiers and heats for the record 31 events in SuperMotocross. The main events will be presented on Peacock, NBC, USA Network, CNBC, and NBC Sports digital platforms.

Peacock will become the home of the SuperMotocross World Championship series in 2023 with live coverage of all races, qualifying, and heats from January to October. There will be 23 races livestreamed exclusively on Peacock, including a SuperMotocross World Championship Playoff event. The platform also will provide on-demand replays of every race. Click here for the full schedule.

POINTS STANDINGS: 450 division l 250 division

ENTRY LISTS450 division l 250 division

EVENT SCHEDULE (all times ET): 

Here are the start times for Saturday’s Supercross Round 11 in Seattle, according to the Monster Energy Supercross schedule from the AMA:

4:50 p.m.: 250SX Group B Qualifying 1
5:05 p.m.: 250SX Group A Qualifying 1
5:20 p.m.: 450SX Group A Qualifying 1
5:35 p.m.: 450SX Group B Qualifying 1
6:25 p.m.: 250SX Group B Qualifying 2
6:40 p.m.: 250SX Group A Qualifying 2
7:55 p.m.: 450SX Group A Qualifying 2
8:10 p.m.: 450SX Group B Qualifying 2
10:06 p.m.: 250SX Heat 1
10:20 p.m.: 250SX Heat 2
10:34 p.m.: 450SX Heat 1
10:48 p.m.: 450SX Heat 2
11:22 p.m.: 250SX Last Chance Qualifier
11:34 p.m.: 450SX Last Chance Qualifier
11:54 p.m.: 250SX Main Event
12:28 a.m.: 450SX Main Event

TRACK LAYOUTClick here to view the track map


FINAL 2022 STANDINGS: 450 points standings | 250 East points standings250 West points standings


ROUND 1: Eli Tomac opens title defense with victory

ROUND 2: Tomac ties Ricky Carmichael on Supercross wins list

ROUND 3: Tomac holds off Cooper Webb again

ROUND 4: Chase Sexton wins Anaheim Triple Crown

ROUND 5: Eli Tomac leads wire to wire in Houston

ROUND 6: Cooper Webb breaks through in Tampa

ROUND 7: Webb wins again in Arlington

ROUND 8: Tomac wins Daytona for the seventh time

ROUND 9: Ken Roczen scores first victory since 2022

ROUND 10: Chase Sexton inherits Detroit victory but docked points


Five things to watch in the 2023 Supercross season

Austin Forkner out for 2023 Supercross season

Malcolm Stewart aims for 450 breakthrough

A new attitude for Adam Cianciarulo in 2023

Ken Roczen signs with Suzuki

Hunter and Jett Lawrence walk a fine line with competition and fans

Three talented rookies move up to 450

Jett Lawrence wants to run 450 division for SMX playoffs