Kyle Larson wins
Paul Arch/ASCOC

Kyle Larson first to win 7 straight in Tony Stewart’s sprint car series

Leave a comment

Kyle Larson made history Saturday night at historic Knoxville Raceway in Iowa, becoming the first with seven consecutive wins on the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions.

Winning his third ASCOC race in as many nights, Larson started third and led the final 18 of 25 laps in the A Main after taking first from pole-sitter Gio Scelzi. He has won the last eight starts and 13 of 19 that he has made this year on the 410 winged sprint car circuit that started in 1970 and is owned by Tony Stewart.

Larson now has three wins this year at Knoxville (after sweeping the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car weekend June 12-13) and six overall at famed dirt shirt track . He said knew of the ASCOC record, and “it added pressure” to Saturday’s race.

LARSON ON NASCAR‘I’d love an opportunity if it came’

“It’s really cool,” he said in a series release. “It was a good solid night.”

The Elk Grove, California, driver’s ASCOC streak began July 10 at Portsmouth Raceway Park in Ohio. After skipping the series’ July 11 race at Sharon Speedway in Ohio, Larson since has won at Sharon Speedway (July 12), Williams Grove Speedway (July 17), Port Royal Speedway (July 18-19), Plymouth Dirt Track (July 30), 34 Raceway (July 31) and Knoxville Raceway (Aug. 1).

He could make it eight in a row in Paul Silva’s No. 57 sprint car tonight as the ASCOC heads to Huset’s Speedway in Brandon, South Dakota, with a $20,000 prize at stake.

But it might help if he had enhanced vision, which he lacked Saturday after losing a contact lens.

“I couldn’t see as well as I needed to, but my car was just good and I had some lines working for me,” he said. “I could make runs off of (Turn 2) and then slide them in (turns) 3 and 4. The contact made it difficult. I hope I have a spare set in my bathroom bag.”

Since the beginning of June, Larson has 23 victories in 37 starts with a worst finish of sixth while barnstorming through Pennsylvania, Ohio, Iowa and several other states to race in various sprint car series and some USAC midget events.

IMSA results, points, stats package after Sunday at Road America

Leave a comment

Helio Castroneves and Ricky Taylor delivered Team Penske’s first victory this season in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, winning at Road America from the pole position Sunday and moving up to sixth in points after finishing no better than seventh in the first three races this season.

The Team Penske No. 7 Acura DPi led a race-high 48  of 63 laps, including the final four after Castroneves seized a restart to take first from Renger van der Zande, who finished second with Ryan Briscoe in the No. 10 Cadillac DPi.

Other class winners at the Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, road course were the No. 81 ORECA LMP2 07 of Henrik Hedman and Ben Hanley in LMP2, the No. 3 Corvette C8.R of Antonio Garcia and Jordan Taylor in GTLM and the No. 12 Lexus RC F GT3 of Townsend Bell and Frankie Montecalvo in GTD.

RAIN-SOAKED RELIEF: Castroneves delivers Penske’s first win with late pass

Here are the race stats, points and results from the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship race at Road America:

RESULTS: Click here for the overall finishing order and here for the class breakdown.

POINTS: In the DPi standings, the No. 10 Cadillac of Briscoe and van der Zande leads by six points (124-118) over the No. 5 Cadillac of Joao Barbosa and Sebastien Bourdais.

The No. 3 Corvette of Antonio Garcia and Jordan Taylor leads the GTLM standings with 130 points, 10 more than the No. 912 Porsche of Earl Bamber and Laurens Vanthoor.

In GTD, the No. 12 Lexus of Bell and Montecalvo moved into the lead by four points (121-117) over AIM Vasser Sullivan teammates Jack Hawksworth and Aaron Telitz in the No. 14 Lexus.

The No. 38 of Performance Tech Motorsport leads in LMP2.

Click here for the points standings for drivers and teams after Road America.


Fastest laps by driver

Fastest laps by driver after race

Fastest laps by driver and class after race

Fastest lap sequence

Leader sequence

Lap chart

Race analysis by lap

NEXT: The IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship’s GT classes will race Aug. 21-22 at Virginia International Raceway.