2021 Monster Energy Supercross Preview: How motivated Is Cooper Webb?


The start of the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Season is less than a week away, and it is time to start asking questions.

There are many about the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross season.

Can the series seamlessly pick up where they left off in the midst of an ongoing novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic?

Having finally won his first, will Eli Tomac win another Supercross championship?

Can Marvin Musquin and Joey Savatgy restart in 2021 after losing 2020 to injury?

But the biggest question of all might be: Is Cooper Webb more dangerous as a rider who wants to regain the No. 1 plate than he was as the defending 2019 champion?

SUPERCROSS ON TV: Full NBC Sports schedule for 2021

“I’ve spoken to Cooper a couple of times in the offseason and you can’t even get into a conversation with the guy without him expressing his frustration and pretty much his disgust at losing that No. 1 plate,” racing analyst Daniel Blair said in an NBC Sports preview of the season (video above).

Webb’s 2020 season was forestalled by illness and injury. After starting the first few rounds with health concerns, he clawed back into contention as the series headed to Arlington for Round 8. Webb earned his first victory of the season at San Diego in Round 6. He finished second in Rounds 5 and 7 to trail the leader by just 11 points.

But his season almost ended there.

Riding a dragon’s back in the closing laps of the second A-Main of the Triple Crown Race, Webb was launched from his bike and thrown off course. He landed hard on his back and needed to be helped off the track by medical staff.

“That crash was probably the worst crash I’ve ever had,” Webb said in the Supercross preview. “I couldn’t feel my legs for a little bit, so that’s always a little scary.”

Soon after the crash, it was unknown if Webb would race again in 2020. He not only raced but stood gingerly on the podium the following week in Atlanta with a third-place finish.

“I thought it was over,” Blair said. “But a week goes by and he shows up. We go to Atlanta, and Cooper Webb pulls a Cooper Webb.”

He finished third again one week later on a physically demanding outdoor course in the frontstretch infield of the Daytona International Speedway.

The COVID break from early March until late May allowed Webb to heal completely. When the series returned to complete its season with seven races in Salt Lake City starting on May 31, he finished second. In Salt Lake City, Webb recorded three victories and three second-place finishes.

“Of all the guys I’ve raced as a former Monster Energy Supercross racer, Cooper Webb was one of the most intense and one of the most scary guys to race against,” said Josh Mosiman, associate editor of Motocross Action Magazine. “You can see by looking at his eyes that you don’t want to mess with this guy.”

IndyCar results, points after Detroit Grand Prix


DETROIT — Alex Palou topped the results of an NTT IndyCar Series race for the second time this season, extending his championship points lead with his victory in the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix.

The Chip Ganassi Racing driver, who also won the GMR Grand Prix (and the Indy 500 pole position) last month, holds a 51-point lead over teammate Marcus Ericsson (ninth at Detroit) through seven of 17 races this season.

Ganassi, which placed all four of its drivers in the top 10 at Detroit, has three of the top four in the championship standings with Scott Dixon ranked fourth after a fourth at Detroit.

FLAVOR FLAV POWERS UP: Iconic rapper hangs out with Team Penske

Indy 500 winner Josef Newgarden is third in the standings after taking a 10th at Detroit. Pato O’Ward slipped to fifth in the points after crashing and finishing 26th

Here are the IndyCar results and points standings after the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix:


Click here for the official box score from the 100-lap race on a nine-turn, 1.645-mile street course in downtown Detroit.

Lap leader summary

Full lap chart

Best section times

Full section data

Event summary

Pit stop summary

Here is the finishing order in the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix with starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (1) Alex Palou, Honda, 100, Running
2. (7) Will Power, Chevrolet, 100, Running
3. (9) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 100, Running
4. (4) Scott Dixon, Honda, 100, Running
5. (13) Alexander Rossi, Chevrolet, 100, Running
6. (12) Kyle Kirkwood, Honda, 100, Running
7. (2) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 100, Running
8. (11) Marcus Armstrong, Honda, 100, Running
9. (6) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 100, Running
10. (5) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 100, Running
11. (24) Colton Herta, Honda, 100, Running
12. (17) Devlin DeFrancesco, Honda, 100, Running
13. (8) Simon Pagenaud, Honda, 100, Running
14. (20) Agustin Canapino, Chevrolet, 100, Running
15. (15) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 100, Running
16. (18) Christian Lundgaard, Honda, 100, Running
17. (25) Jack Harvey, Honda, 100, Running
18. (14) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 100, Running
19. (23) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 100, Running
20. (19) Benjamin Pedersen, Chevrolet, 97, Running
21. (22) Santino Ferrucci, Chevrolet, 97, Running
22. (26) Sting Ray Robb, Honda, 97, Running
23. (21) David Malukas, Honda, 85, Contact
24. (3) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 80, Contact
25. (27) Graham Rahal, Honda, 50, Contact
26. (10) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 41, Contact
27. (16) Callum Ilott, Chevrolet, 1, Contact

Winner’s average speed: 80.922 mph; Time of Race: 02:01:58.1171; Margin of victory: 1.1843 seconds; Cautions: 7 for 32 laps; Lead changes: 10 among seven drivers. Lap Leaders: Palou 1-28; Power 29-33; O’Ward 34; Palou 35-55; Power 56-64; Palou 65; Rossi 66; Newgarden 67-68; Kirkwood 69; Ericsson 70-76; Palou 77-100.


Click here for the points tally in the race.

Here are the points standings after the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix:



Engine manufacturers

Pit stop performance

Top 10 in points: Palou 273, Ericsson 222, Newgarden 203, Dixon 194, O’Ward 191, Rossi 176, McLaughlin 175, Power 172, Herta 149, Rosenqvist 148.

Rest of the standings: Grosjean 145, Kirkwood 142, Lundgaard 136, Ilott 116, VeeKay 108, Ferrucci 105, Armstrong 101, Rahal 99, Malukas 91, Daly 88, DeFrancesco 81, Castroneves 80, Harvey 78, Canapino 77, Pagenaud 72, Pedersen 61, Robb 55, Takuma Sato 37, Ed Carpenter 27, Ryan Hunter-Reay 20, Tony Kanaan 18, Marco Andretti 13, RC Enerson 5, Katherine Legge 5.

Next race: IndyCar will head to Road America for the Sonsio Grand Prix, which will take place June 18 with coverage starting at 1 p.m. ET on NBC and Peacock.