Supercross 2021: Results and points standings after Round 2 at Houston


After a tough opening round in which he finished outside the top 10, defending champion Eli Tomac scored the 35th Supercross win of his career and broke out of tie with Ryan Dungey.

Tomac inherited the lead when first his teammate Adam Cianciarulo and then the leader Chase Sexton buried their bikes in the sand and fell to the back of the pack. Tomac’s win raised him to sixth in the points standings, four behind Justin Barcia.

In only his second 450 SX start, rookie Dylan Ferrandis earned his first career podium in second.

Justin Brayton finished third, which is his first podium in three years.

Cooper Webb finished fourth after making an incredible pass on Ken Roczen, who landed fifth.

RESULTS: Click here for 450 results; click here for 250

Marvin Musquin, Malcolm Stewart and Jason Anderson finished sixth through eighth respectively.

Justin Barcia backed up last week’s win in the opening round with a second top-10. He finished ninth.

Zach Osborne rounded out the top 10 after falling from second with time running off the clock.

Barcia remains the point leader by only one over Ferrandis. Brayton and Musquin are tied for third in the standings, two points behind the leader.

Round 2 Round 2 450 main results | 450 points standings | 450 Manufacturer points

In the 250 division, Jett Lawrence scored his first Main event win. Earlier in the evening, he also scored his first heat victory.

Colt Nichols and Christian Craig kept their momentum by standing on the podium in back to back weeks. Last week Craig won; Nichols was third.

Michael Mosiman, who also scored his first heat win earlier in the night, finished fourth with Jo Shimoda rounding out the top five.

Austin Forkner was battling for second with RJ Hampshire midway through the event when he misjudged an aggressive pass and dropped both riders to the ground. Forkner rallied to finish sixth.

Mitchell Oldenburg, Max Vohland, Joshua Osby and John Short rounded out the top 10.

After contact with Forkner, Hampshire dropped well off the pace and finished two laps down in 17th.

Craig retains the points lead over Nichols and Lawrence.

Click here for Round 2 250 main results | 250 East points standings | 250 Manufacturer Points

The Supercross series will return to Houston for Round 3 on Saturday night.

POINTS, RESULTS AFTER ROUND 1 AT HOUSTON: Justin Barcia, Christian Craig take early lead

Justin Grant prevails over Kyle Larson in the Turkey Night Grand Prix

Grant Larson Turkey Night / DB3 Inc.

On the heels of his Hangtown 100 victory, Justin Grant worked his way from 13th in the Turkey Night Grand Prix to beat three-time event winner Kyle Larson by 1.367 seconds. The 81st annual event was run at Ventura (Calif.) Raceway for the sixth time.

“My dad used to take me to Irwindale Speedway, and we’d watch Turkey Night there every year,” Grant said in a series press release. “This is one of the races I fell in love with. I didn’t think I’d ever get a chance to run in it, never thought I’d make a show and certainly never thought I’d be able to win one.”

With its genesis in 1934 at Gilmore Stadium, a quarter-mile dirt track in Los Angeles, the race is steeped in history with winners that include AJ Foyt, Parnelli Jones, Gary Bettenhausen and Johnnie Parsons. Tony Stewart won it in 2000. Kyle Larson won his first of three Turkey Night Grands Prix in 2012. Christopher Bell earned his first of three in 2014, so Grant’s enthusiasm was well deserved.

So was the skepticism that he would win. He failed to crack the top five in three previous attempts, although he came close last year with a sixth-place result. When he lined up for the feature 13th in the crowded 28-car field, winning seemed like a longshot.

Grant watched as serious challengers fell by the wayside. Mitchel Moles flipped on Lap 10 of the feature. Michael “Buddy” Kofoid took a tumble on Lap 68 and World of Outlaws Sprint car driver Carson Macedo flipped on Lap 79. Grant saw the carnage ahead of him and held a steady wheel as he passed Tanner Thorson for the lead with 15 laps remaining and stayed out of trouble for the remainder of the event.

“It’s a dream come true to win the Turkey Night Grand Prix,” Grant said.

Kyle Larson follows Justin Grant to the front on Turkey Night

The 2012, 2016 and 2019 winner, Larson was not scheduled to run the event. His wife Katelyn is expecting their third child shortly, but after a couple of glasses of wine with Thanksgiving dinner and while watching some replays of the event, Larson texted car owner Chad Boat to see if he had a spare car lying around. He did.

“We weren’t great but just hung around and it seemed like anybody who got to the lead crashed and collected some people,” Larson said. “We made some passes throughout; in the mid-portion, we weren’t very good but then we got better at the end.

“I just ran really, really hard there, and knew I was running out of time, so I had to go. I made some pretty crazy and dumb moves, but I got to second and was hoping we could get a caution to get racing with Justin there. He was sliding himself at both ends and thought that maybe we could get a run and just out-angle him into [Turn] 1 and get clear off [Turn] 2 if we got a caution, but it just didn’t work out.”

Larson padded one of the most impressive stats in the history of this race, however. In 10 starts, he’s won three times, finished second four times, was third once and fourth twice.

Bryant Wiedeman took the final spot on the podium.

As Grant and Larson began to pick their way through the field, Kofoid took the lead early from the outside of the front row and led the first 44 laps of the race before handing it over to Cannon McIntosh, who bicycled on Lap 71 before landing on all fours. While Macedo and Thorson tussled for the lead with McIntosh, Grant closed in.

Thorson finished 19th with McIntosh 20th. Macedo recovered from his incident to finish ninth. Kofoid’s hard tumble relegated him to 23rd.

Jake Andreotti in fourth and Kevin Thomas, Jr. rounded out the top five.

1. Justin Grant (started 13)
2. Kyle Larson (22)
3. Bryant Wiedeman (4)
4. Jake Andreotti (9)
5. Kevin Thomas Jr. (1)
6. Logan Seavey (8)
7. Alex Bright (27)
8. Emerson Axsom (24)
9. Carson Macedo (7)
10. Jason McDougal (18)
11. Jake Swanson (16)
12. Chase Johnson (6)
13. Jacob Denney (26)
14. Ryan Timms (23)
15. Chance Crum (28)
16. Brenham Crouch (17)
17. Jonathan Beason (19)
18. Cade Lewis (14)
19. Tanner Thorson (11)
20. Cannon McIntosh (3)
21. Thomas Meseraull (15)
22. Tyler Courtney (21)
23. Buddy Kofoid (2)
24. Brody Fuson (5)
25. Mitchel Moles (20)
26. Daniel Whitley (10)
27. Kaylee Bryson (12)
28. Spencer Bayston (25)