IndyCar race results, points standings after Bommarito 500 at WWT Raceway Gateway


IndyCar Gateway results, points: Josef Newgarden is now firmly in the hunt for a third NTT IndyCar Series championship after winning Saturday night’s Bommarito Automotive Group 500 at World Wide Technology Raceway Gateway.

Newgarden led a race-high 138 of 260 laps in claiming his second win of 2021 (Mid-Ohio). He becomes the fourth driver to score multiple wins this season in IndyCar, joining Pato O’Ward, Alex Palou and Marcus Ericsson.

O’Ward finished second to earn his fifth podium of the season and his first since winning Race No. 2 at Detroit’s Belle Isle Park in June. He also now holds the points lead by 10 points over Palou with three races to go.

Will Power followed his win last week on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course with a third-place finish. Power also earned his 63rd career Indy-car pole earlier Saturday. He is now within four poles of tying Mario Andretti for the most all-time.

IndyCar rookie Scott McLaughlin finished fourth, earning his best result since a runner-up in Race No. 1 at Texas Motor Speedway in May.

Sebastien Bourdais rose from 18th on the starting grid to finish fifth. The A.J. Foyt Racing driver matched his season-best result from April’s opener at Barber Motorsports Park.

Palou finished 20th to lose the points lead after being eliminated in a three-car incident that also involved teammate Scott Dixon and Rinus VeeKay.

Here are the results and points standings after Saturday’s IndyCar race at Gateway:

IndyCar Gateway results

Box Score

Lap Leader Chart

Here is the finishing order with starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out:

1. (3) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 260, Running
2. (5) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 260, Running
3. (1) Will Power, Chevrolet, 260, Running
4. (11) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 260, Running
5. (18) Sebastien Bourdais, Chevrolet, 260, Running
6. (16) Takuma Sato, Honda, 260, Running
7. (13) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Honda, 260, Running
8. (4) Simon Pagenaud, Chevrolet, 260, Running
9. (6) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 260, Running
10. (15) Jack Harvey, Honda, 260, Running
11. (20) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 260, Running
12. (24) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet, 260, Running
13. (17) Tony Kanaan, Honda, 260, Running
14. (14) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 259, Running
15. (19) James Hinchcliffe, Honda, 243, Running
16. (10) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 211, Mechanical
17. (7) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 200, Contact
18. (2) Colton Herta, Honda, 185, Mechanical
19. (8) Scott Dixon, Honda, 100, Contact
20. (21) Alex Palou, Honda, 64, Contact
21. (23) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 64, Contact
22. (22) Ed Carpenter, Chevrolet, 54, Contact
23. (9) Graham Rahal, Honda, 4, Contact
24. (12) Ed Jones, Honda, 2, Contact

Winner’s average speed: 135.245 mph … Time of Race: 2:24:10.9404 … Margin of victory: 0.5397 of a second … Cautions: 6 for 49 … Lead changes: 11 among 6 drivers … Lap leaders: Power 1, Herta 2-57, Bourdais 58-67, Newgarden 68-132, Pagenaud 133, Bourdais 134-137, Newgarden 138, Herta 139-183, Newgarden 184-197, O’Ward 198, Bourdais 199-202, Newgarden 203-260

IndyCar Gateway points 

Points Tally from Saturday’s race

Full Points Standings (through 13 of 16 races):

Top 10 in the standings: O’Ward 435, Palou 425, Newgarden 413, Dixon 392, Ericsson 375, Herta 324, Pagenaud 320, Rahal 319, Power 315, Sato 279


Grand Prix of Portland at Portland (Ore.) International Raceway – Sunday, Sept. 12, 3 p.m. ET on NBC

  • Portland track stats: 12-turn, 1.964-mile natural terrain road course
  • Past Portland winners: Takuma Sato – 2018, Will Power – 2019 (race canceled in 2020 becuase of the COVID-19 pandemic)
  • Begins season-ending run of three road and street course races in three weeks (Laguna Seca – Sept. 19; Long Beach – Sept. 26)

Click here for this year’s full broadcast schedule.

NEOM McLaren Formula E announces Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast for 2023 season

McLaren Formula E Hughes
McLaren Racing

Doubling down on their commitment to electric auto sports, McLaren Racing announced Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast to compete in the 2023 Formula E Series (FE), which completes their driver lineup.

The NEOM McLaren FE team was formed by the acquisition of the Mercedes-EQ Formula E team that won the 2021 and 2022 championships with Stoffel Vandoorne and Nyck de Vries behind the wheel.

“Today’s announcement feels like a long time coming,” said Ian James, managing director of NEOM McLaren Electric Racing in a release. “Since May this year, when we first announced McLaren Racing’s entry into Formula E, we have been working tirelessly to get in place the best possible team and structure for sustainable success.

“On the one hand, we have been working on the retention of the amazing talent that already was in place before going into the transitional phase. I’m proud to say I think we’ve done a great job on that front.

“On the other hand, we have been focusing on putting in place new processes and new talent – and the latter includes the drivers.”

The driver lineup clasps the two hands together.

Hughes brings 10 years racing experience in single seater cars, including a role with the acquired Mercedes-EQ team as a reserve and development driver for the past two seasons. He is the 2013 BRDC Formula 4 champion and has multiple wins in Formula 2, including two in 2020.

Announced in August, Rast joins the team after earning two podium finishes and six top-fives in 22 career Formula E starts for Audi Sport ABT before returning to the DTM Series last year. Rast’s best finish in Formula E came in the Puebla E Prix when he finished second to teammate Lucas di Grassi by less than a half second.

McLaren’s commitment to Formula E comes one year after they entered the Extreme E rally series in 2022 with Tanner Foust and Emma Gilmour in the driver lineup. After a modest start to the season, the McLaren XE drivers crossed the finish line first in Round 4 in Chile, but were assessed a time penalty that dropped them to fifth. Last week in the season finale in Uruguay, they held onto a hard-earned second place finish.