Xtreme Outlaw 2022 schedule announced

Xtreme Outlaw 2022 Schedule
Xtreme Outlaws Series

World Racing Group announced 26 wingless sprint and midget races as part of the inaugural Xtreme Outlaw 2022 schedule. The first race on the calendar will be the sprints as part of the DIRTCar Nationals at Volusia Speedway Park in Barberville, Fla. on Feb. 14-15.

“Since we announced the Xtreme Outlaw Series earlier this month, the momentum has continued to build,” said Brian Carter, World of Outlaws and DIRTcar Racing CEO in a release. “Drivers have already committed to run each series, now we’re continuing that momentum by announcing schedules and sponsorship, with more to come as interest in each division is at a very high level.”

The inaugural season of the wingless sprints currently features 14 races, up from the 10 races originally announced. The midget division will host 12 races.

Some of the highlights of the sprint car calendar include the Jason Johnson Classic at Lark Ozark Speedway in Eldon, Mo. on April 9, 2022. Johnson lost his life in a sprint car crash in 2018 at Beaver Dam (Wis.) Raceway. The series returns to Lake Ozark for a two-night stand on June 10-11. The Xtreme Outlaw Sprints will also run two-day shows at Federated Auto Parts Raceway in Pevely, Mo. later in June and are the final announced event is back-to-back races at Atomic Speedway in Waverly, Ohio.

Currently, two nights of racing in late October are planned for the Sprint Car Series, but a venue has not yet been announced.

The Xtreme Outlaw Midgets kick off their schedule as a companion to the Illini 100 Late Model weekend at Farmer City (Ill.) Raceway. Most of their calendar is made up of two-day shows, including events with the Outlaw Sprints in the Ironman 55 at Federated Raceway.

The midgets close their schedule in mid-October at I-44 Riverside Speedway in Oklahoma City.

A points fund was also announced.

In the Sprint Car series, the champion will take home $20,000; the Midget champion will earn $10,000

Combined Xtreme Outlaw Schedule
Feb. 14-15: Volusia Speedway Park; Barberville, Fla. | Sprints
April 1-2: Farmer City Raceway; Farmer City, Ill. | Midgets
April 8:  US 36 Raceway; Osborn, Mo. | Sprints
April 9: Lake Ozark Speedway; Eldon, Mo. | Sprints
May 23-24: Millbridge Speedway; Salisbury, NC | Midgets
June 10-11: Lake Ozark Speedway; Eldon, Mo. | Sprints
June 24-25: Federated Auto Parts Raceway; Pevely, Mo. | Sprints
June 26: Jacksonville Speedway; Jacksonville, Ill. | Midgets
August 5-6: Federated Auto Parts Raceway; Pevely, Mo. | Midgets
August 26-27: Davenport Speedway; Davenport, Iowa | Midgets
Sept. 9: Jacksonville Speedway; Jacksonville, Ill. | Sprints
Sept. 10: Spoon River Speedway; Lewistown, Ill. | Sprints
Oct. 7-8: Atomic Speedway; Waverly, Ohio | Sprints
Oct. 13: Port City Raceway; Tulsa, Okla. | Midgets
Oct. 14-15: I-44 Riverside Speedway; Oklahoma City, Okla. | Midgets

Justin Grant prevails over Kyle Larson in the Turkey Night Grand Prix

Grant Larson Turkey Night
USACRacing.com / DB3 Inc.

On the heels of his Hangtown 100 victory, Justin Grant worked his way from 13th in the Turkey Night Grand Prix to beat three-time event winner Kyle Larson by 1.367 seconds. The 81st annual event was run at Ventura (Calif.) Raceway for the sixth time.

“My dad used to take me to Irwindale Speedway, and we’d watch Turkey Night there every year,” Grant said in a series press release. “This is one of the races I fell in love with. I didn’t think I’d ever get a chance to run in it, never thought I’d make a show and certainly never thought I’d be able to win one.”

With its genesis in 1934 at Gilmore Stadium, a quarter-mile dirt track in Los Angeles, the race is steeped in history with winners that include AJ Foyt, Parnelli Jones, Gary Bettenhausen and Johnnie Parsons. Tony Stewart won it in 2000. Kyle Larson won his first of three Turkey Night Grands Prix in 2012. Christopher Bell earned his first of three in 2014, so Grant’s enthusiasm was well deserved.

So was the skepticism that he would win. He failed to crack the top five in three previous attempts, although he came close last year with a sixth-place result. When he lined up for the feature 13th in the crowded 28-car field, winning seemed like a longshot.

Grant watched as serious challengers fell by the wayside. Mitchel Moles flipped on Lap 10 of the feature. Michael “Buddy” Kofoid took a tumble on Lap 68 and World of Outlaws Sprint car driver Carson Macedo flipped on Lap 79. Grant saw the carnage ahead of him and held a steady wheel as he passed Tanner Thorson for the lead with 15 laps remaining and stayed out of trouble for the remainder of the event.

“It’s a dream come true to win the Turkey Night Grand Prix,” Grant said.

Kyle Larson follows Justin Grant to the front on Turkey Night

The 2012, 2016 and 2019 winner, Larson was not scheduled to run the event. His wife Katelyn is expecting their third child shortly, but after a couple of glasses of wine with Thanksgiving dinner and while watching some replays of the event, Larson texted car owner Chad Boat to see if he had a spare car lying around. He did.

“We weren’t great but just hung around and it seemed like anybody who got to the lead crashed and collected some people,” Larson said. “We made some passes throughout; in the mid-portion, we weren’t very good but then we got better at the end.

“I just ran really, really hard there, and knew I was running out of time, so I had to go. I made some pretty crazy and dumb moves, but I got to second and was hoping we could get a caution to get racing with Justin there. He was sliding himself at both ends and thought that maybe we could get a run and just out-angle him into [Turn] 1 and get clear off [Turn] 2 if we got a caution, but it just didn’t work out.”

Larson padded one of the most impressive stats in the history of this race, however. In 10 starts, he’s won three times, finished second four times, was third once and fourth twice.

Bryant Wiedeman took the final spot on the podium.

As Grant and Larson began to pick their way through the field, Kofoid took the lead early from the outside of the front row and led the first 44 laps of the race before handing it over to Cannon McIntosh, who bicycled on Lap 71 before landing on all fours. While Macedo and Thorson tussled for the lead with McIntosh, Grant closed in.

Thorson finished 19th with McIntosh 20th. Macedo recovered from his incident to finish ninth. Kofoid’s hard tumble relegated him to 23rd.

Jake Andreotti in fourth and Kevin Thomas, Jr. rounded out the top five.

1. Justin Grant (started 13)
2. Kyle Larson (22)
3. Bryant Wiedeman (4)
4. Jake Andreotti (9)
5. Kevin Thomas Jr. (1)
6. Logan Seavey (8)
7. Alex Bright (27)
8. Emerson Axsom (24)
9. Carson Macedo (7)
10. Jason McDougal (18)
11. Jake Swanson (16)
12. Chase Johnson (6)
13. Jacob Denney (26)
14. Ryan Timms (23)
15. Chance Crum (28)
16. Brenham Crouch (17)
17. Jonathan Beason (19)
18. Cade Lewis (14)
19. Tanner Thorson (11)
20. Cannon McIntosh (3)
21. Thomas Meseraull (15)
22. Tyler Courtney (21)
23. Buddy Kofoid (2)
24. Brody Fuson (5)
25. Mitchel Moles (20)
26. Daniel Whitley (10)
27. Kaylee Bryson (12)
28. Spencer Bayston (25)