Supercross 2022: Results and points after Round 6 in Anaheim


Jason Anderson got the jump on Eli Tomac at the start of the Supercross Round 6 main and topped the race results for the second time in 2022. Anderson earned his first holeshot of the season.

It was the second time in as many races that the two riders went head-to-head, with Anderson earning the best finish in both events. Last week after Tomac won the first two features of the Triple Crown format in Glendale, Arizona, Anderson rode past him in the final race and finished second over Tomac in third. A fall while riding second in Race 2 relegated Anderson to fourth overall in that event.

This week, the results of Supercross Round 6 were clear as Anderson rode off to one-second lead early. Both riders would find the whoops section challenging, but neither hit the dirt.

RESULTS: Click here for 450 Results; Click here for 250 Results

After attempting a pass early in the race, Tomac showed patience. He lost his rhythm in the whoops halfway through the main and allowed Anderson to get a comfortable lead.

Tomac was able to close the gap on a couple of occasions when Anderson faltered in the challenging section, but ultimately settled for the runner-up position. Tomac holds a 12-point advantage over Anderson as the series leaves the West Coast and heads to Minneapolis this week.

Justin Barcia found his form again after spending three weeks outside the top five. He won his first heat of the season over Marvin Musquin and Tomac in route to his third podium of 2022.

Click here for 450 Heat 1 results | Heat 2 | LCQ

Malcolm Stewart kept his momentum alive with a fifth consecutive top-five finish. The only time he failed to finish that well was in the season opener in this same stadium. Stewart was seventh in Anaheim 1.

The defending champion, Cooper Webb finished eighth for the third consecutive race and is currently sixth in points with a 31-point deficit to Tomac.

Click here for Round 6 450 Main results | Rider Points | Manufacturer Points

The third race in Anaheim marks the final event for the 250 West riders until they visit Seatle on March 26 and Christian Craig wanted to enter the break with as much momentum as possible. He earned his fourth win in six races. In the two races he did not win, Craig finished third in San Diego and was second overall in the Glendale Triple Crown.

As his principal rivals in the points struggled during the past two weeks, Craig has built a 28-point cushion over the past two weeks with just four races remaining. Two of these will be East-West Shootouts in Atlanta and Salt Lake City.

Click here for 250 West Heat 1 results | Heat 2 | LCQ

Vincent Friese scored the best finish of his career with a second-place finish, one week after incurring a penalty and probation for rough riding in Glendale. Mostly consistent finishes of fourth through sixth have landed him fourth in the standings, but a 19th in Anaheim 2 puts him nearly 50 points behind Craig.

Michael Mosiman had two offs during the Anaheim 3 Main but managed to end the night third. An even bigger problem for Hunter Lawrence, who crashed early and finished 18th, eliminated that rider from the race and allowed Mosiman to take second in the 250 West championship chase.

Click here for 250 West Main results | 250 West Rider Points

After winning his first heat of 2022, Garrett Marchbanks finished fourth for the third time this season.

In fifth, Carson Brown scored his first career top-five one week after coming close with a sixth overall in the Glendale Triple Crown.

Mitchell Harrison made a splash early in the race with his first holeshot of 2022, but crashed early and finished last.

Jo Shimoda took a hit in the points after missing his first feature of the season. He crashed hard in his heat and was transported to the hospital for x-rays to his right ankle.

POINTS, RESULTS AFTER ROUND 1 AT ANAHEIM: Ken Roczen, Cooper Webb renew rivalry with 1-2 finish

POINTS, RESULTS AFTER ROUND 2 AT OAKLAND: Jason Anderson wins, Ken Roczen struggles to tighten points’ standings

POINTS, RESULTS AFTER ROUND 3 AT SAN DIEGO: First time wins for Chase Sexton (450s) and Michael Mosiman (250s)

POINTS, RESULTS AFTER ROUND 4 AT ANAHEIM: Eli Tomac solidifies points’ lead with first win of season

POINTS, RESULTS AFTER ROUND 5 AT GLENDALE: Eli Tomac is first rider to repeat in 2022

Miguel Oliveira wins MotoGP Thai Grand Prix, Bagnaia closes to two points in championship

MotoGP Thai Grand Prix
Mirco Lazzari / Getty Images

Miguel Oliveira mastered mixed conditions on the Chang International Circuit in Buriram, Thailand to win the MotoGP Thai Grand Prix. Oliveira showed the adaptability as he navigated a race that began in wet conditions and turned dry over the course of the race. Oliveira won the Indonesian GP in similar conditions.

“It was a long race, but I can’t complain,” Oliveira said on CNBC. “Every time we get to ride in the wet, I’m always super-fast. When it started raining, I had flashbacks of Indonesia. I tried to keep my feet on the ground, make a good start and not make mistakes and carry the bike to the end.”

All eyes were on the championship, however. Francesco Bagnaia got a great start to slot into second in Turn 1.

Meanwhile Fabio Quartararo had a disastrous first lap. He lost five positions in the first couple of turns and then rode over the rumble strips and fell back to 17th. At the end of the first lap, Bagnaia had the points’ lead by two. A win would have added to the gain and for a moment, it appeared Bagnaia might assume the lead.

Early leader Marco Bezzecchi was penalized for exceeding track limits, but before that happened, Jack Miller got around Bagnaia and pushed him back to third. Oliveira was not far behind.

After throwing away ninth-place and seven points on the last lap of the Japanese GP last week, Bagnaia did not allow the competition to press him into a mistake. He fell back as far as fourth before retaking the final position on the podium.

“It’s like a win for me, this podium,” Bagnaia. “My first podium in the wet and then there was a mix of conditions, so I’m very happy. I want to thank Jack Miller. Before the race, he gave me a motivational chat.”

Miller led the first half of the Thai Grand Prix before giving up the top spot to Oliveira and then held on to finish second. Coupled with his Japanese GP win, Miller is now fully in the MotoGP championship battle with a 40-point deficit, but he will need a string of results like Bagnaia has put together in recent weeks – and he needs Bagnaia to lose momentum.

Miller’s home Grand Prix in Australia is next up on the calendar in two weeks.

Bagnaia entered the race 18 points behind Quartararo after he failed to score any in Japan. The balance of power has rapidly shifted, however, with Quartararo now failing to earn points in two of the last three rounds. Bagnaia won four consecutive races and finished second in the five races leading up to Japan. His third-place finish in Thailand is now his sixth MotoGP podium in the last seven rounds.

Aleix Espargaro entered the race third in the standings with a 25-point deficit to Quartararo, but was able to close the gap by only five after getting hit with a long-lap penalty for aggressive riding when he pushed Darryn Binder off course during a pass for position. Espargaro finished 11th.

Rain mixed up the Moto2 running order in the MotoGP Thai Grand Prix as well. Starting on a wet track, Somkiat Chantra led the opening lap in his home Grand Prix. He could not hold onto it and crashed one circuit later, but still gave his countrymen a moment of pride by winning the pole.

Half points were awarded as the race went only eight laps before Tony Arbolino crossed under the checkers first with Filip Salac and Aron Canet rounding out the podium.

American Joe Roberts earned another top-10 in eighth with Sean Dylan Kelly finishing just outside the top 10 in 11th.