Supercross 2022: Results and points after Round 7 in Minneapolis


Jason Anderson earned his third win of the 2022 Monster Energy Supercross season and his Round 7 results at Minneapolis, Minnesota were enough to close the gap on Eli Tomac to just three points in the championship standings.

Anderson was resigned to finishing second in the Minneapolis race when found himself three seconds behind the leader as time ran off the clock. On the final lap, Chase Sexton buried a front tire on a jump and crashed hard, which handed the lead to Anderson. His three wins this season are joined with one other podium finish, a second in Anaheim 2.

After going to the ground in Anaheim 1 and San Diego, Anderson believed it was time for him to have a little luck as the series prepares to head down Interstate 35 to Dallas for next week’s race.

Anderson was able to close the points’ gap when Tomac got hung up on a jump on Lap 1, fell back to 20th and could only recover to finish sixth.

RESULTS: Click here for 450 Results; Click here for 250 Results

Cooper Webb had an up and down race Saturday night. He earned the holeshot in the feature after finishing second in his heat, but was quickly caught by Sexton. Webb fell back as far as fourth until two riders experienced trouble in the closing laps with Malcolm Stewart and Sexton both tucking their front tires and crashing. Webb’s second-place finish Saturday night is his second podium of 2022.

Marvin Musquin earned his first podium of the season after coming up one position short in Anaheim 1. He rode well in the last two races, at Glendale and Anaheim 3, before his own incidents denied the elusive top-three finish.

Click here for 450 Heat 1 results | Heat 2 | LCQ

Stewart was well on his way to a second podium for the season until he overjumped the final turn in a rhythm section and buried his tire. He remounted in the top five, and after Sexton’s crash was elevated to fourth. This improves his current streak of top-fives to six consecutive races.

One week after earning his third podium of the season, Justin Barcia scored his fourth top-five by finishing fifth.

Click here for Round 7 450 Main results | Rider Points | Manufacturer Points

The 250 East riders got their first taste of action in Minneapolis with Jett Lawrence beating Austin Forkner to the line by a little more than five seconds.


Forkner earned the holeshot before Lawrence made an aggressive but clean pass on Lap 2. Forkner kept Lawrence in sight for the first half of the race, keeping the distance to under two seconds for most of the first nine laps.

Forkner was pleased with his start and believes that bodes well for the championship hunt.

Click here for 250 East Heat 1 results | Heat 2 | LCQ

Forkner’s teammate Cameron McAdoo finished a close third and was less than two seconds behind the runner-up finisher.

Minnesota native Jeremy Martin finished fourth in the main after scoring a modest fifth-place finish in his heat

Click here for 250 East Main results | 250 East Rider Points

Rounding out the top five was RJ Hampshire, who started the night with a Heat 2 win.

Narrowly missing the top five in Minneapolis was Pierce Brown, who won Heat 1. He took the lead from Josh Osby on Lap 2 of that heat and led laps in the 250 series for the first time ever in a heat or main.

POINTS, RESULTS AFTER ROUND 1 AT ANAHEIM: Ken Roczen, Cooper Webb renew rivalry with 1-2 finish

POINTS, RESULTS AFTER ROUND 2 AT OAKLAND: Jason Anderson wins, Ken Roczen struggles to tighten points’ standings

POINTS, RESULTS AFTER ROUND 3 AT SAN DIEGO: First time wins for Chase Sexton (450s) and Michael Mosiman (250s)

POINTS, RESULTS AFTER ROUND 4 AT ANAHEIM: Eli Tomac solidifies points’ lead with first win of season

POINTS, RESULTS AFTER ROUND 5 AT GLENDALE: Eli Tomac is first rider to repeat in 2022

POINTS, RESULTS AFTER ROUND 6 AT ANAHEIM: Jason Anderson ties Tomac with two wins in 2022

Winner Josef Newgarden earns $3.666 million from a record Indy 500 purse of $17 million


INDIANAPOLIS — The first Indy 500 victory for Josef Newgarden also was the richest in race history from a record 2023 purse of just more than $17 million.

The two-time NTT IndyCar Series champion, who continued his celebration Monday morning at Indianapolis Motor Speedway earned $3.666 million for winning the 107th running of the Greatest Spectacle in Racing.

The purse and winner’s share both are the largest in the history of the Indianapolis 500.

It’s the second consecutive year that the Indy 500 purse set a record after the 2022 Indy 500 became the first to crack the $16 million mark (nearly doubling the 2021 purse that offered a purse of $8,854,565 after a crowd limited to 135,000 because of the COVID-19 pandemic).

The average payout for IndyCar drivers was $500,600 (exceeding last year’s average of $485,000).

Indianapolis Motor Speedway owner Roger Penske, whose team also fields Newgarden’s No. 2 Dallara-Chevrolet, had made raising purses a priority since buying the track in 2020. But Penske but was unable to post big money purses until the race returned to full capacity grandstands last year.

The largest Indy 500 purse before this year was $14.4 million for the 2008 Indy 500 won by Scott Dixon (whose share was $2,988,065). Ericsson’s haul made him the second Indy 500 winner to top $3 million (2009 winner Helio Castroneves won $3,048,005.

Runner-up Marcus Ericsson won $1.043 million after falling short by 0.0974 seconds in the fourth-closest finish in Indy 500 history.

The 107th Indy 500 drew a crowd of at least 330,000 that was the largest since the sellout for the 100th running in 2016, and the second-largest in more than two decades, according to track officials.

“This is the greatest race in the world, and it was an especially monumental Month of May featuring packed grandstands and intense on-track action,” Penske Entertainment president and CEO Mark Miles said in a release. “Now, we have the best end card possible for the 107th Running of the Indianapolis 500: a record-breaking purse for the history books.”

Benjamin Pedersen was named the Indy 500 rookie of the year, earning a $50,000 bonus.

The race’s purse is determined through contingency and special awards from IMS and IndyCar. The awards were presented Monday night in the annual Indy 500 Victory Celebration at the JW Marriott in downtown Indianapolis.

The payouts for the 107th Indy 500:

1. Josef Newgarden, $3,666,000
2. Marcus Ericsson, $1,043,000
3. Santino Ferrucci, $481,800
4. Alex Palou, $801,500
5. Alexander Rossi, $574,000
6. Scott Dixon, $582,000
7. Takuma Sato, $217,300
8. Conor Daly, $512,000
9. Colton Herta, $506,500
10. Rinus VeeKay, $556,500
11. Ryan Hunter‐Reay, $145,500
12. Callum Ilott, $495,500
13. Devlin DeFrancesco, $482,000
14. Scott McLaughlin, $485,000
15. Helio Castroneves, $481,500
16. Tony Kanaan, $105,000
17. Marco Andretti, $102,000
18. Jack Harvey, $472,000
19. Christian Lundgaard, $467,500
20. Ed Carpenter, $102,000
21. Benjamin Pedersen (R), $215,300
22. Graham Rahal, $565,500*
23. Will Power, $488,000
24. Pato O’Ward, $516,500
25. Simon Pagenaud, $465,500
26. Agustín Canapino (R), $156,300
27. Felix Rosenqvist, $278,300
28. Kyle Kirkwood, $465,500
29. David Malukas, $462,000
30. Romain Grosjean, $462,000
31. Sting Ray Robb (R), $463,000
32. RC Enerson (R), $103,000
33.  Katherine Legge, $102,000

*–Broken down between two teams, $460,000 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, $105,500 Dreyer & Reinbold Racing/Cusick Motorsports