World of Outlaws Late Model Series announce 2023 schedule

Outlaws Late Model 2023
World of Outlaws Late Models

The World of Outlaws Late Model Series announced their 2023 schedule, complete with $3 million in purse money, nearly a dozen new tracks and six events paying more than $200,000 in total prize money. A three-day show at Mississippi Thunder Speedway in Fountain City, Wis. and the Prairie Dirt Classic at Fairbury (Ill.) Speedway in late July will top the quarter million mark.

Dennis Erb Jr. begins his title defense January 19-21 with the three-day Sunshine Nationals at Volusia Speedway Park in Barberville, Fla., paying a total of $160,000. He hopes to have the points wrapped up ahead of the World of Outlaws World Finals at the Charlotte Dirt Track November 1-4 for the second consecutive season.

The 2022 Rookie of the Year and runner-up in points, Tanner English will attempt to win his third straight Feature in the Quad Cities 150, a three-day show at Davenport (Iowa) Speedway in late August.

The big 2023 payouts come on the heels of 2022 paying record purses.

The 2023 schedule is comprised of 53 races at 30 tracks, including 11 that have been added or reintroduced to the tour.

“We’ve taken the schedule and built it in a way that benefits our drivers and fans,” said World of Outlaws Late Model Series Director Steve Francis in a press release. “Along with adding several new venues, we increased the purses at several events, creating a platform for great racing all season.”

The Talladega Short Track is one notable new date after being added to the schedule on the same weekend as the spring NASCAR race at Talladega Superspeedway. They will host a two-day show in late April before the series heads to Wisconsin.

I-75 Raceway in Niota, Tenn. also debuts with the series in 2023.

Races at 411 Speedway in Seymour, Tenn., Stateline Speedway in Busti, N.Y., Paducah (Ky.) International Raceway, Mason City (Iowa) Motor Speedway, Red River Valley Speedway in Fargo, N.D. and Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, Ky. also return after short hiatus. Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway returns to the schedule after a sixteen-year break and 34 Raceway in Burlington, Iowa return after much longer breaks.

2023 Schedule

January 19-21: Volusia Speedway Park / Barberville, Fla. ($160k total purse)
February 16-18: Volusia Speedway Park / Barberville, Fla. ($187k)
March 3-4: Smoky Mountain Speedway / Maryville, Tenn. ($115k)
March 17-18: Boyd’s Speedway / Ringgold, Ga. ($135k)
March 31-April 1: Farmer City (Ill.) Raceway ($136k)
April 20: 411 Speedway, Seymour, Tenn. ($50k)
April 21-22: Talladega Short Track / Eastaboga, Ala. ($205k)
May 4-6: Mississippi Thunder Speedway / Fountain City, Wis. ($264k)
May 19: Marion Center (Pa.) Raceway ($50k)
May 20: Port Royal (Pa,) Speedway ($65k)
May 23: Stateline Speedway / Busti, NY ($50k)
May 25-27: Sharon Speedway / Hartford, Ohio ($156k)
June 2: Tri-City Speedway / Granite City, Ill ($57k)
June 3: Paducah (Ky.) International Raceway ($65k)
June 23-24: 81 Speedway, Wichita, Kan. ($152k)
June 25: Off Road Speedway / Norfolk, Neb ($50k)
June 27: Mason City (Iowa) Motor Speedway ($50k)
June 28: Red River Valley Speedway / West Fargo, N.D. ($50k)
June 30: River Cities Speedway / Grand Forks, N.D. ($57k)
July 1: I-94 Sure Step Speedway / Fergus Falls, Minn. N ($65k)
July 14: Ponderosa Speedway / Junction City, KY ($65k)
July 15: Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway ($65k)
July 28-29 Fairbury (Ill.) Speedway ($290k with lap money included)
Aug. 1:  Boone (Iowa) Speedway (65k)
Aug. 3-5:  / Cedar Lake Speedway / New Richmond, Wis. ($200k)
Aug. 24 – 26 Davenport (Iowa) Speedway ($214k)
Sept. 29 – 30 Atomic Speedway / Chillicothe, Ohio ($115k)
Oct. 6: 34 Raceway / West Burlington, Iowa ($50k0
Oct. 7: Fairbury (Ill.) Speedway / Fairbury ($65k)
Oct. 13: I-75 Raceway / Niota, Tenn. ($50k)
Oct. 14: Senoia (Ga.) Raceway ($65k
Nov. 1-4 The Dirt Track at Charlotte / Concord, N.C, ($206k)

IndyCar disappointed by delay of video game but aiming to launch at start of 2024

IndyCar video game 2024

An IndyCar executive said there is “absolutely” disappointment that its long-awaited video game recently was delayed beyond its target date, but the series remains optimistic about the new title.

“Well, I don’t know how quick it will be, but the whole situation is important to us,” Penske Entertainment president and CEO Mark Miles said during a news conference Monday morning to announce IndyCar’s NTT title sponsorship. “Motorsport Games has spent a lot of money, a lot of effort to create an IndyCar title. What we’ve seen of that effort, which is not completely obvious, is very reassuring.

“I think it’s going to be outstanding. That’s our shared objective, that when it is released, it’s just widely accepted. A great credit both to IndyCar racing, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, something that our fans love.”

In June 2021, IndyCar announced a new partnership with Motorsport Games to create and distribute an IndyCar video game for the PC and Xbox and PlayStation consoles in 2023.

But during an earnings call last week, Motorsport Games said the IndyCar game had been delayed to 2024 to ensure high quality.

Somewhat compounding the delay is that IndyCar’s license for iRacing expired after the end of the 2022 season because of its exclusive agreement with Motorsport Games.

That’s resulted in significant changes for IndyCar on iRacing, which had provided a high-profile way for the series to stay visible during its 2020 shutdown from the pandemic. (Players still can race an unbranded car but don’t race on current IndyCar tracks, nor can they stream).

That’s helped ratchet up the attention on having a video game outlet for IndyCar.

“I wish we had an IndyCar title 10 years ago,” said Miles, who has been working with the organization since 2013. “We’ve been close, but we’ve had these I think speed bumps.”

IndyCar is hopeful the Motorsports Game edition will be ready at the start of 2024. Miles hinted that beta versions could be unveiled to reporters ahead of the time “to begin to show the progress in a narrow way to make sure we’ve got it right, to test the progress so that we’re ready when they’re ready.”

It’s been nearly 18 years since the release of the most recent IndyCar video game for console or PC.

“(We) better get it right,” Miles said. “It’s something we’re very close to and continue to think about what it is to make sure we get it over the line in due course.”