Supercross 2021: Results and points standings after Round 8 at Orlando


Cooper Webb scored his second consecutive Monster Energy Supercross victory and his third of the season by a margin of more than three seconds over teammate Marvin Musquin.

As Ken Roczen, Webb’s principle rival in the points, got off to a slow start Webb knew he needed to take advantage of the bobble, but it took nearly half of the race before he was able to catch the early leader Adam Cianciarulo.

Webb’s win narrowed the points gap to just six points heading into an off-week before the series tackles the famed frontstretch of Daytona International Speedway.

When Webb got around the sophomore rider, Cianciarulo kept the leader in sight until he took a bad jump in the whoops and flipped his bike. Cianciarulo retired from the event.

The crash allowed Marvin Musquin to move into second and gave KTM a sweep of the top two spots.

RESULTS: Click here for 450 results; Click here for 250

The battle of the night was for the final spot on the podium. Justin Barcia had it. Eli Tomac and Roczen wanted it.

At the beginning of the season, after winning the first round, Barcia said he did not want to be a one-race rider. He has met that goal with his third podium in eight rounds and a fifth top-five.

Roczen had the comeback of the night. After getting off to a slow start that had him in 17th at one stage, he charged back through the field and grabbed fourth.

After winning his heat with a bold move on Musquin in the final corner, Jason Anderson nipped Tomac at the end and rounded out the top five.

The defending champion Tomac was forced to settle for sixth and is now 31 points behind the leader in the standings.

Malcom Stewart in seventh, Zach Osborne in Eighth, Aaron Plessinger in ninth and Justin Bogle rounded out the top 10.

Click here for Round 7 450 Main results | 450 points standings  | 450 Manufacturer points

Justin Cooper scored his second consecutive opening-round 250 win over Cameron McAdoo with a margin of nearly five seconds.

McAdoo was unchallenged for the runner-up position, but his race was not without drama.

The first 250 West Main of the season was marred by an early-race incident.

On the opening lap, Stilez Robertson jumped onto the back of Jeremy Martin and triggered a multi-bike accident. Martin walked from the track holding his right shoulder. But as the red flag was displayed, McAdoo clipped a medical worker and on the cool down lap.

Garrett Marchbanks finished third. To secure the position, he battled Seth Hammaker early in the race and when he slowed coming out of a corner, Hammaker had brief and easy tipover. Marchbanks continued on.

After an uncertain offseason when he was not sure he had a ride for 2021, Marchbanks was relieved to be on the podium.

Jalek Swoll earned a career-high finish of fourth. His best run previous was a sixth in the third round at Salt Lake City last June.

Hunter Lawrence rounded out the top five.

After his contact with Marchbanks, Hammaker remounted and climbed to sixth at the checkers.

Kyle Peters in seventh, Chris Blose in eighth, Robbie Wageman in ninth and Jace Owens rounded out the top 10.

Next Up: Daytona International Speedway, March 6.

Click here for 250 West Main results | 250 points standings | 250 Manufacturer points

POINTS, RESULTS AFTER ROUND 1 AT HOUSTON: Justin Barcia, Christian Craig take early lead

POINTS, RESULTS AFTER ROUND 2 AT HOUSTON: Eli Tomac close gap, Jett Lawrence wins his first

POINTS, RESULTS AFTER ROUND 3 AT HOUSTON: Ken Roczen earns one-point margin; Colt Nichols, Christian Craig share 250 lead

POINTS, RESULTS AFTER ROUND 4 AT INDIANAPOLIS: Ken Roczen wins to extend points margin, Colt Nichols doubles down

POINTS, RESULTS AFTER ROUND 5 AT INDIANAPOLIS: Ken Roczen makes it two in a row; Colt Nichols threepeats

POINTS, RESULTS AFTER ROUND 6 AT INDIANAPOLIS: Ken Roczen continues to roll; Christian Craig stops Colt Nichols

POINTS, RESULTS AFTER ROUND 7 AT ORLANDO: Cooper Webb gets second win as Jett Lawrence also doubles

Winner Josef Newgarden earns $3.666 million from a record Indy 500 purse of $17 million


INDIANAPOLIS — The first Indy 500 victory for Josef Newgarden also was the richest in race history from a record 2023 purse of just more than $17 million.

The two-time NTT IndyCar Series champion, who continued his celebration Monday morning at Indianapolis Motor Speedway earned $3.666 million for winning the 107th running of the Greatest Spectacle in Racing.

The purse and winner’s share both are the largest in the history of the Indianapolis 500.

It’s the second consecutive year that the Indy 500 purse set a record after the 2022 Indy 500 became the first to crack the $16 million mark (nearly doubling the 2021 purse that offered a purse of $8,854,565 after a crowd limited to 135,000 because of the COVID-19 pandemic).

The average payout for IndyCar drivers was $500,600 (exceeding last year’s average of $485,000).

Indianapolis Motor Speedway owner Roger Penske, whose team also fields Newgarden’s No. 2 Dallara-Chevrolet, had made raising purses a priority since buying the track in 2020. But Penske but was unable to post big money purses until the race returned to full capacity grandstands last year.

The largest Indy 500 purse before this year was $14.4 million for the 2008 Indy 500 won by Scott Dixon (whose share was $2,988,065). Ericsson’s haul made him the second Indy 500 winner to top $3 million (2009 winner Helio Castroneves won $3,048,005.

Runner-up Marcus Ericsson won $1.043 million after falling short by 0.0974 seconds in the fourth-closest finish in Indy 500 history.

The 107th Indy 500 drew a crowd of at least 330,000 that was the largest since the sellout for the 100th running in 2016, and the second-largest in more than two decades, according to track officials.

“This is the greatest race in the world, and it was an especially monumental Month of May featuring packed grandstands and intense on-track action,” Penske Entertainment president and CEO Mark Miles said in a release. “Now, we have the best end card possible for the 107th Running of the Indianapolis 500: a record-breaking purse for the history books.”

Benjamin Pedersen was named the Indy 500 rookie of the year, earning a $50,000 bonus.

The race’s purse is determined through contingency and special awards from IMS and IndyCar. The awards were presented Monday night in the annual Indy 500 Victory Celebration at the JW Marriott in downtown Indianapolis.

The payouts for the 107th Indy 500:

1. Josef Newgarden, $3,666,000
2. Marcus Ericsson, $1,043,000
3. Santino Ferrucci, $481,800
4. Alex Palou, $801,500
5. Alexander Rossi, $574,000
6. Scott Dixon, $582,000
7. Takuma Sato, $217,300
8. Conor Daly, $512,000
9. Colton Herta, $506,500
10. Rinus VeeKay, $556,500
11. Ryan Hunter‐Reay, $145,500
12. Callum Ilott, $495,500
13. Devlin DeFrancesco, $482,000
14. Scott McLaughlin, $485,000
15. Helio Castroneves, $481,500
16. Tony Kanaan, $105,000
17. Marco Andretti, $102,000
18. Jack Harvey, $472,000
19. Christian Lundgaard, $467,500
20. Ed Carpenter, $102,000
21. Benjamin Pedersen (R), $215,300
22. Graham Rahal, $565,500*
23. Will Power, $488,000
24. Pato O’Ward, $516,500
25. Simon Pagenaud, $465,500
26. Agustín Canapino (R), $156,300
27. Felix Rosenqvist, $278,300
28. Kyle Kirkwood, $465,500
29. David Malukas, $462,000
30. Romain Grosjean, $462,000
31. Sting Ray Robb (R), $463,000
32. RC Enerson (R), $103,000
33.  Katherine Legge, $102,000

*–Broken down between two teams, $460,000 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, $105,500 Dreyer & Reinbold Racing/Cusick Motorsports